Do you play Keen on original hardware?

Here, you can get help with anything or just chat about the original Commander Keen games.

Do you play Keen on original hardware?

Yes; I play Keen on an old computer.
10
20%
Yes; I play Keen on my original Keening machine.
5
10%
No; I don't play Keen on old hardware.
36
71%
 
Total votes: 51

User avatar
Commander Spleen
Lord of the Foobs
Posts: 2376
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 22:54
Location: Border Village
Contact:

Post by Commander Spleen »

especially Keens 1 - 3 (their sound effects are not something I would really miss)
>:

User avatar
Keeper
Vortininja
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 14:15
Location: Stara Zagora, Bulgaria

Post by Keeper »

Commander Spleen wrote:>:
Oh, I certainly have my nostalgic moments, but at times I get tired of PC Speaker beeps. Had way too many of them as a kid.

Besides, Keen is just as fun when it is silent. I can imagine my own sound effects in my head :p


Benvolio wrote:I would strongly recommend you broaden your horizons...
Don't worry - the number of mods I am familiar with just rose to 8 - I downloaded Episodes X, Y, Z, and NULL.

Woo, twitching Bloog tongue!

User avatar
DHeadshot
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1874
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 10:21
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by DHeadshot »

Without any warning, yesterday my father took our old 33MHz Windows 3.11 machine to the dump. :( RIP beloved machine...

Incidentally, if anyone would like its 8 1MB sticks of 32 pin RAM, PM me.

[edit]Woops
Last edited by DHeadshot on Tue Nov 22, 2011 22:54, edited 1 time in total.
Cereal Board!
Deltamatic wrote:Prepositions are things I end sentences with.
(Cereal wiki has sadly died)

User avatar
Commander Spleen
Lord of the Foobs
Posts: 2376
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 22:54
Location: Border Village
Contact:

Post by Commander Spleen »

yesterday took our old 33MHz Windows 3.11 machine to the dump.
Yesterday is an arsehole. This is terrible news. I'd take you up on that RAM, but I've got way more than I can use already so there'd be no real point.

User avatar
Keeper
Vortininja
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 14:15
Location: Stara Zagora, Bulgaria

Post by Keeper »

Ow, my first real computer was a 40 MHz machine. Used it for many long years.

Well, nothing lasts forever, no matter how much we've cared for it :dead

User avatar
Commander Spleen
Lord of the Foobs
Posts: 2376
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 22:54
Location: Border Village
Contact:

Post by Commander Spleen »

Except lemm's 386 that's apparently been running for over 10 years straight.

User avatar
RoboBlue
It's that one guy.
Posts: 932
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 10:26
Contact:

Post by RoboBlue »

Ten years without a single blackout? Is it running on a UPS or something?
Image

User avatar
Commander Spleen
Lord of the Foobs
Posts: 2376
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 22:54
Location: Border Village
Contact:

Post by Commander Spleen »

Image
ATTENTION READERS: LEMM DOES NOT HAVE A GIGANTIC FREE ENERGY RF ANTENNA

THIS CONVERSATION DID NOT HAPPEN

User avatar
thehackercat
Yorp Doctor
Posts: 666
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 0:05

Post by thehackercat »

DHeadshot wrote:Without any warning, yesterday took our old 33MHz Windows 3.11 machine to the dump. :( RIP beloved machine...

Incidentally, if anyone would like its 8 1MB sticks of 32 pin RAM, PM me.
Oh man, sorry about that. Like Spleen said, yesterday is definitely a jerk for doing that.

I'd take you up on the RAM, but:
a) I'm not exactly sure what my Magitronic uses for RAM
b) I don't have any extra cash for shipping at the moment.

User avatar
lemm
Blorb
Posts: 688
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 10:18
Location: canada lol

Post by lemm »

The switch has remained in the on position for the last ten years, I should say. There are very few power outages here, maybe 1 (or fewer) per year, thanks to the mild weather.


And it has 32 MB ram. :mortlol

User avatar
DHeadshot
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1874
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 10:21
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by DHeadshot »

lemm wrote:The switch has remained in the on position for the last ten years, I should say.
That HAS to be some kind of record! We all think (in my family) that my Grandfather's mad for never shutting his laptop down (even when he takes it on a plane) for 3 years, but TEN?! :O
Cereal Board!
Deltamatic wrote:Prepositions are things I end sentences with.
(Cereal wiki has sadly died)

User avatar
Keeper
Vortininja
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 14:15
Location: Stara Zagora, Bulgaria

Post by Keeper »

We did something similar many years ago. But it wasn't voluntary - the switch was broken and it was impossible to turn off the computer :p

So, the easiest thing to do was to leave it on for some time. Then pull the plug and, eventually, fix the switch.

User avatar
Commander Spleen
Lord of the Foobs
Posts: 2376
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 22:54
Location: Border Village
Contact:

Post by Commander Spleen »

Actually now that I think about it, my 386's switch stopped working once as well and we would just plug and unplug the power cord. When the switch was failing, it was necessary to flick it on and off a heap of times before it worked.

The switch got fixed eventually, upside down.

Actually I rather miss those chunky switches. I do still have the face from that 386, so maybe I can attach it to a newer computer...

User avatar
kuliwil
Blue-tongued Yorp
Posts: 1731
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 8:51
Location: Facestalking Commander Spleen.
Contact:

Post by kuliwil »

Commander Spleen wrote:Actually I rather miss those chunky switches. I do still have the face from that 386, so maybe I can attach it to a newer computer...
I've had experience with case face hacking - I want in.
"Hi, I'm Tom Sellick's moustache."
Image

User avatar
Commander Spleen
Lord of the Foobs
Posts: 2376
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 22:54
Location: Border Village
Contact:

Post by Commander Spleen »

An excellent project for KeenConVic.

Post Reply