Redefining Keys

Here, you can get help with anything or just chat about the original Commander Keen games.
MortimerInBlack
Vortininja

Redefining Keys

Post by MortimerInBlack »

So I just started playing Keen 1 again, and remembered that there is a help file you can get by pressing F1. So I'm reading it just for the hell of it, because I usually read the story and this help file is pretty obscure.

And not too far down it says: "You can redefine these keys by pressing F3".

My question is, has anyone ever done this? I'm solidly used to the CTRL to jump, ALT to pogo, and both to fire, but are there better schemes?
The Viking II lander actually did land on a 'rock' on Mars.
http://nssdc.gsfc.nasa.gov/nmc/masterCa ... =1975-083C
tulip
Flower Pot

Post by tulip »

yes. I always do this using 'd' and 's' as CTRL and ALT keys. I have been doing this since windows started to place its damn windows key between ctrl and alt, ruining the fun.

Many of you know already that I always change the buttons, as I have been known to release a mod with changed controls, and I got feedback messages like "I can't enter any levels."
Image You crack me up little buddy!
Pokota
Vortininja

Post by Pokota »

If we're talking about just when we play, I use one of three setups, depending on which game I'm playing. Only two ever come into play for Commander Keen.

For the Vorticon engine and games where only two keys do something other than movement, Z is for Jumping and X is for whatever the other action is.

For the Galaxy engine and games where I need three keys for three different purposes, Z is for Jumping, X is for the more frequently used action (in the case of the Galaxy engine, shooting), and C is for the less frequently used action (in the case of Galaxy, this is my Pogo).