Commander Geinus running at about 1000 frames per second

Here, you can get help with anything or just chat about the original Commander Keen games.
Post Reply
EquinoxBlue
Meep
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2019 3:05

Commander Geinus running at about 1000 frames per second

Post by EquinoxBlue » Mon Jan 14, 2019 3:07

Hi guys,

Looking for some advice. I've installed Commander Genius and it is working, but it is running at about 1000 fps, and it makes the games unplayable. I've tried it with Keen 4 and Keen 1, and they're both the same.

I've looked in the CFG file and it's set to 60 fps, but it doesn't appear to be working.

Any advice?

I'm running this on a Windows 10 VM on a Macbook Pro (Parallels). Possibly the VM is the issue?

TDRR
Grunt
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2018 17:46

Re: Commander Geinus running at about 1000 frames per second

Post by TDRR » Sun Jan 20, 2019 17:03

Try using Omnispeak and Chocolate Keen, which may help. Less features than Commander Genius but they are more stable and accurate to the original games.

Yes i think that the VM is the problem, so either get a cheap Windows laptop or use bootcamp on your Mac. If neither the just try Omnispeak and Chocolate Keen.

User avatar
Commander Spleen
Lord of the Foobs
Posts: 2342
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 22:54
Location: Border Village
Contact:

Re: Commander Geinus running at about 1000 frames per second

Post by Commander Spleen » Mon Jan 21, 2019 3:46

Isn't there a native Mac binary for CG?

Post Reply