Commander Keen Mobile Reboot

Here, you can get help with anything or just chat about the original Commander Keen games.
Gridlock
Vorticon Elite

Commander Keen Mobile Reboot

Post by Gridlock »

So, Bethesda online studios just announced at E3 that they're doing a mobile reboot of Commander Keen in the style of Saturday morning cartoons. Here's an early article: https://stevivor.com/news/commander-kee ... bile-game/

I... don't even know where to begin on this one. My first impression is... what the heck have they done to Keen? This frankly looks like cynical mobile garbage. Speaking as a game developer myself, I have to wonder if the people working on this have any passion for the Keen IP? If anyone does genuinely care, maybe there's a chance it could have some redeeming qualities?

I have no idea what this means for the IP or this forum going forward. Could this eventually lead to us getting a proper Keen game in the future? Regardless, seeing Keen return is kind of surreal, even if the style feels completely wrong to me personally. Curious what other people think.

Tom Hall gave his initial reaction on Twitter:

https://twitter.com/ThatTomHall/status/ ... 8773065729
Tom Hall wrote:To comment: glad there is a female protagonist too, wish it wasn’t F2P mobile (mostly for controls, but gameplay so far looks kinda meh?), doesn’t at first blush feel like Keen. We will see. #CommanderKeen (And to answer the other question, not involved.)
Armageddon Begins Again. The Alphamatic has arrived.

Atroxian Realm: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=3536
The Alphamatic: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=4086
JoeCapricorn
Grunt

Re: Commander Keen Mobile Reboot

Post by JoeCapricorn »

The gameplay doesn't seem all that interesting, but with the trailer it was hard to tell what was gameplay at all.

There is another video showing "battle mode" which doesn't look interesting at all. Doesn't look like it is a platformer, but instead some kind of tactical game.