Korath III problem

Here, you can get help with anything or just chat about the original Commander Keen games.
Post Reply
Some Vorticon
Grunt
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2020 4:17

Korath III problem

Post by Some Vorticon »

The secret fuse in The Armageddon Machine's "Korath III Base" isn't breaking when I pogo on it. Is there a certain way I need to do it? :korath

User avatar
Roobar
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 3074
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 16:12
Contact:

Re: Korath III problem

Post by Roobar »

The fuse will not break on Easy difficulty.

Some Vorticon
Grunt
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2020 4:17

Re: Korath III problem

Post by Some Vorticon »

Okay. Thanks.

User avatar
Syllypryde
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 839
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 18:33
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: Korath III problem

Post by Syllypryde »

That only applies to the original Keen5 executable. It can be broken on the updated versions of the executable.
What is Directive X_M?

User avatar
K1n9_Duk3
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 663
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 9:30
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Korath III problem

Post by K1n9_Duk3 »

Fuses can only be broken if Keen lands on them with the pogo stick and Keen has a high vertical velocity. Since there is almost no headroom above the fuse, it is difficult to gain enough velocity. Playing on easy doesn't just affect the number of enemies in the levels and how many shots you get for every pickup, it also lowers the gravity for Keen. This means Keen can jump higher, but it also means that Keen doesn't fall quite as fast as he would on normal or hard mode. That makes it very difficult to gain enough momentum to break the secret fuse in the Korath III base on easy difficulty.

I'm not sure if there are any differences regarding the fuse breaking code amongst the different versions of Keen 5. It's impossible to play this level on easy difficulty in the initial release (version 1.0) due to a goplat/volteface path error. I've also tried to break the fuse in the Apogee release and the GT release of "version 1.4" and didn't notice a difference when trying to break the secret fuse on easy. And my conclusion is:

Breaking the fuse is possible on easy difficulty, but it definitely requires multiple bounces and a little bit of luck. Lowering the CPU cycles in DOSBox down to 1000 or less seems to increase the odds of breaking the fuse. I think it might be (almost?) impossible to break that fuse on easy if you're playing the game on a "fast" system, but I'm not 100 % sure.
Hail to the K1n9, baby!
http://k1n9duk3.shikadi.net

Spikenexus
Vortininja
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 2:37
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Korath III problem

Post by Spikenexus »

K1n9_Duk3, that is probably one of the most interesting things I've read about Keen's inner workings in a long time. I had no idea the difficulty level affected the gravity in the game (and of course the impact that has on the Korath III fuse). One of those things I've probably seen a hundred times but never really paid attention to.

Had been a long time aware that the Korath III fuse wouldn't (or was at least very difficult to) break on Easy mode, but had no idea that was the reason why.

Post Reply