Keen Clone

You can discuss anything about fan-made Commander Keen games here.
User avatar
Commander Spleen
Lord of the Foobs
Posts: 2361
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 22:54
Location: Border Village
Contact:

Post by Commander Spleen » Tue Jan 06, 2009 23:48

Some nice progress indeed.

A feature suggestion: It would be classy if you can implement a way of managing multiple games and mods with ease, like a menu system on bootup that displays all the games contained in the data directory, or any other specified location.

gerstrong
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1158
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 14:44
Location: Frankfurt - Germany
Contact:

Multiple Games

Post by gerstrong » Wed Jan 07, 2009 4:50

Thank you for the Suggestion!

I will think about it!

gerstrong
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1158
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 14:44
Location: Frankfurt - Germany
Contact:

Mods and Games

Post by gerstrong » Wed Jan 07, 2009 16:36

I'm not sure about Mods, and how to implement them.

Are MODs already modified graphics, sounds, levels, or do they have to get patched first? Which type of those are legal?

My idea would be a boot up menu like Commander Spleen said, in which there are the games and mods which will be read by directories.

Are mods already patched graphics, or are they only patch, which have to be applied?

What do you think about the idea of using directories, like ScummVM does?

User avatar
tulip
Flower Pot
Posts: 2520
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:50
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Post by tulip » Thu Jan 08, 2009 12:51

since clonekeen uses the original .ck* files, one can already use the modded files and graphics of any mod, i've tried that already.
The only problems are: the tileinfo .tli and connected with it the .pat patchfile which changes things like enemy behaviour or winning conditions and is therefore vital for the modded gameplay.
So if clonekeen read these .pat files and somehow translate the patches, that's all that is needed i suppose.
Image You crack me up little buddy!

User avatar
Commander Spleen
Lord of the Foobs
Posts: 2361
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 22:54
Location: Border Village
Contact:

Post by Commander Spleen » Thu Jan 08, 2009 14:27

Indeed, mods that don't require CKPatch to run correctly (only a few in the great scheme of things) will already work in CloneKeen. The rest will need their patches translated into a form CloneKeen can use.
Of course, as K1n9_Duk3 wrote:From what I've seen, the patch files will only change some constants in the game (like jump height, string messages and stuff). It shouldn't be that much of a problem reading the patch files and changing the apropriate values in CloneKeen.
In that light a good number of mods can be made to work without much effort, but there are many other patches that do particularly nifty things. Some, such as the 32 levels patch, will of course be obsolete, but there are still a good few that will require specialised work.

User avatar
Ravey
Grunt
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 21:56

Post by Ravey » Thu Jan 08, 2009 16:46

I tried CloneKeen earlier and it seemed like a decent port except for the sound being distorted sometimes. I'll try out KeenPlus.

gerstrong
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1158
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 14:44
Location: Frankfurt - Germany
Contact:

Distorted Sound

Post by gerstrong » Fri Jan 09, 2009 9:19

In my new version, I think that you will not have that problem, because I changed from 4 channel to 8 channel sound. I think, that this was the problem. The game sometimes needs more channels and in this case some sounds are incorrectly mixed.

Furthermore, there are some OGG files included, which improve some sounds (not all of them). You can change and add some more of them. Have fun with it!

You have also now stereo sound, which means that, when, for example, you shoot at an enemy which is walking at the right edge of your screen, you will only hear the sound from the right speaker, and so on.


I'm working on the next version and I want to do it like in ScummVM, one game or mod per directory. When you open CKP, you first will see a menu, in which you can choose the game or mod, and then start it.

This will be my last update for some days, because my next plan is to clean the source code and change it to something better. There are a lot of memory lacks left from the original author and if I don't fix them, there will be further problems with the implementation of new features.

This will take some time.

After that, here are my future plans:
- improve physics. There are still some illogical behaviours
- implement OpenGL, for true lighting(cartoonish, of course) for smoother scrolling, etc. Maybe for some new effects, too.
- implement music (The old game did not have that, obviously)
- More joystick and keyboard mappings (Until now, only buttons can be remapped)
- Change the name of the Project (Because a Clone does the same thing, and this won't be anymore)

And now my far future plans:
- Graphics of CK4-6 in CK1-3 (I use OpenGL to get isometric floors from CK1-3 Levels).
- Support of CK 4-6 + Dreams

What do you think? Does it sound great, or do you have any other suggestions?

The most recent version can be downloaded from this link:

http://clonekeenplus.sourceforge.net/

Have much fun!

User avatar
tulip
Flower Pot
Posts: 2520
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:50
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Post by tulip » Fri Jan 09, 2009 15:34

It would be nice if one could download a compiled version also, not only the source code.
I don't know how to compile, so I can't test it.
Image You crack me up little buddy!

Sciz CT
Council Janitor
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 4:57

Re: Distorted Sound

Post by Sciz CT » Fri Jan 09, 2009 18:35

gerstrong wrote:What do you think? Does it sound great, or do you have any other suggestions?
Support for higher resolutions (and in turn, high res graphics packs). And if it hasn't been done already, increasing the old level and tileset size limitations would be nice as well.

It's great to see someone finally trying to modernize the engine, so keep it up! :)

gerstrong
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1158
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 14:44
Location: Frankfurt - Germany
Contact:

hqp

Post by gerstrong » Fri Jan 09, 2009 18:46

Support for higher resolutions will be implemented with the implementation of OpenGL. High-Res packs is also a good idea.

@tulip: What operating do you use? 32-bit, 64? Windows, MacOS X, Linux? Maybe I can send you a binary file.

However, compilation instructions are well explained in the README file, I think. I've made special instructions for Ubuntu users as I use that.

I released another version of CKP, this time with the Support of different Mods being able to put in one Menu.

gerstrong
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1158
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 14:44
Location: Frankfurt - Germany
Contact:

Mods

Post by gerstrong » Fri Jan 09, 2009 19:25

I was testing one mod, and it worked without problems.

Check out my screenshots at:

http://clonekeenplus.sourceforge.net/

and have fun testing!

User avatar
ckguy
Bipship Engineer
Posts: 1161
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 17:56
Location: Providence, RI, US
Contact:

Post by ckguy » Sat Jan 10, 2009 1:39

Any tip on compiling this on Windows? I'd really like to check this out, but am unfortunately afflicted with Not Having Linux :dopekeen

I should really get a real Linux VM going or something and learn stuff.

User avatar
Commander Spleen
Lord of the Foobs
Posts: 2361
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 22:54
Location: Border Village
Contact:

Post by Commander Spleen » Sat Jan 10, 2009 2:40

I second the request for binaries. If you can pull off a static link scenario where you don't need to worry about installing extra libraries, at least for Windows, 32-bit Linux and MacOS it would broaden the potential audience nicely.

Blue
The Big Foot
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 6:36
Location: Canada/Germany

Post by Blue » Sat Jan 10, 2009 19:38

I've got a mac machine, so if there are any mac users out here i'll try compiling it later on today.

User avatar
Commander Spleen
Lord of the Foobs
Posts: 2361
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 22:54
Location: Border Village
Contact:

Post by Commander Spleen » Sun Jan 11, 2009 4:07

I get this error when compiling:

Code: Select all

snddrv.c:(.text+0x1269): undefined reference to `HQSndDrv_Load'

Post Reply