Commander Keen 2.5D: The Quest for Spot's Collar

You can discuss anything about fan-made Commander Keen games here.
User avatar
Fleexy
Tool Smith
Posts: 1369
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 1:21
Location: Abiathar C&C
Contact:

Post by Fleexy » Sun May 31, 2009 23:45

Thanks, I took it down.

Sorry, I'm not interested in Doom (or mods of it), sorry. :(

Ceilick
The Dude
Posts: 1538
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 20:10
Location: Seattle

Post by Ceilick » Mon Jun 01, 2009 1:17

eh heh heh :o when you said try the use switch button, I thought you ment the switch in his closet. I played again and talked to him this time. Making him look friendlier might have clued me in ;)

User avatar
VikingBoyBilly
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 4155
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 2:06
Location: The spaghetti island of the faces of dinosaur world for a vacation

Post by VikingBoyBilly » Mon Jun 01, 2009 1:39

The picture on his wall looks friendly right?
Image
Though I do admit it's not 100% identical to the real thing :o
and lol this screen was taken before I put glass in the windows :crazy
Image
"I don't trust players. Not one bit." - Levellass

Dynamo
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 779
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 22:03
Location: Everywhere.

Post by Dynamo » Tue Jun 02, 2009 12:34

VikingBoyBilly wrote:If you're a good mapper (and evilstar very much indicates that you are), that's what I need the most and would be extremely cool :)
It would be an honour.

I'll check out the wad now and see how it works. I'll see if I can make a map for it. If you want to give me precise instructions about the map go ahead.

User avatar
VikingBoyBilly
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 4155
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 2:06
Location: The spaghetti island of the faces of dinosaur world for a vacation

Post by VikingBoyBilly » Tue Jun 02, 2009 13:44

Yeah, right now I still need to make a lot more flats/textures for the environments (not to mention more aliens), but you can definately try with the textures that are there.

I have already pre-determined themes for the maps (although they are vague). If you look at the mapinfo in Q4CollarAlpha.pk3 and their titles, you can probably guess at what kind of environment they take place in. A couple of which are towns/cities with houses much like the one on the cliff in the demo level. Some of them are caves. One is completely underwater. One is a high-tech facility. One is on a beach, etc. I have some of the new flats drawn but they are obviously not included in the keendata you have :dopefish

I also want to use keygems to unlock areas as is the keen tradition. But I want it to be slightly different from Doom's key system in that you put the key on a pedestal and the door opens (think of placing the heart of D'Sparil on the pedestal in Hexen :dopefish)

Right now you can definately place powerups and the few enemies that exist. I just haven't made a sprite for the 1-up item yet :o

It's complicated, but I want A LOT of vertical movement and 3D floors. Doombuilder II makes this much easier to accomplish with it's new line drawing system but it can still consume hours of time when it gets really complex (see map 03 to see what I mean). Moving goplats are a centralizing aspect to this 3D vertical movement. They're shaped like octagons with sides of 32 length (adding up to an exact 64x64 tile on the map and cutting 16 pixels off each corner) and use the GOPLAT flat. Unfortunately, because the floor and ceiling of the goplat have to move up and down to certain positions, it can't be done with a single action special, so you have to resort to using ACS to make them move (unless I'm overlooking something that will make me look like an idiot :dead )

So for now look at the mapinfo and either post here or PM me which one you'd like to try first and I may give you a little bit of direction for it. And if you don't like whats there and have a suggestion for a different kind of level, that's cool too. I just don't want more than 16 maps (as more than that would make the project drag on for too long) so I'd axe one of them in favor for another :dopefish

Right now I'm programming the overworld map system. It looks pretty ugly at the moment but I'm pretty sure it will work :)
Image
"I don't trust players. Not one bit." - Levellass

User avatar
VikingBoyBilly
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 4155
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 2:06
Location: The spaghetti island of the faces of dinosaur world for a vacation

Post by VikingBoyBilly » Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:02

Bumping this to show you guys that the classic world-map hub system is coming true for this game
Image
You can enter and leave levels as you choose. All monsters and items respawn each time you visit a level and the game uses global variables to tell the world map to change based on things you do in the levels (because like the others, the map level is also completely re-initialized every time you enter it). Your position on the map is also recorded, so you will be spawned in the exact spot you previously were when you re-enter the map, which is very sexy :dopefish
As you can see though, I'll be having trouble getting keen's helmet and marta's hair out of the way, and the map will only look this pretty if the player makes the sprites x and y coordinated as you look at them from higher angles (it is y-oriented by default which makes everything look like nearly-invisible flat pieces of paper from above) :o
Image
"I don't trust players. Not one bit." - Levellass

Ceilick
The Dude
Posts: 1538
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 20:10
Location: Seattle

Post by Ceilick » Tue Jun 09, 2009 2:01

Looking very cool :)
and the map will only look this pretty if the player makes the sprites x and y coordinated as you look at them from higher angles
I meant to say this earlier, but this reminds me, make sure you include detalied instructions on how to do this and how to get the game running in the first place ;)

User avatar
tulip
Flower Pot
Posts: 2520
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:50
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Post by tulip » Tue Jun 09, 2009 15:23

Very cool, yeah, and instructions are definetly a must.
Image You crack me up little buddy!

JoeCapricorn
Grunt
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 19:01

Post by JoeCapricorn » Wed Jun 17, 2009 3:55

Everything works really well! Easy difficulty, interesting ideas! I can't wait to see the final version!

Maybe it'll inspire me to get around to finishing Keen Doom, but it seems there are now several different Commander Keen Doom games coming out.

That's cool!

Let there be a next generation of Keen fans that make mods for Crysis with a Commander Keen theme... those would be cool ^_^

User avatar
KeenRush
Android Dummy
Posts: 2553
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 20:57
Location: KEEN1.EXE
Contact:

Post by KeenRush » Thu Jun 18, 2009 16:29

The world map is interesting -- great to see stuff like that hacked into Doom. :)
My newest mod - Planet Of Agony: https://pckf.com/viewtopic.php?t=4165 | codename H.Y.E.N.A.

Sslaxx
Grunt
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 22:00
Location: Malvern, Worcs., UK
Contact:

Post by Sslaxx » Sat Jun 27, 2009 22:28

Makes me think of Sonic Robo Blast 2... that used a Doom port (not sure which one, though).
Stuart "Sslaxx" Moore.

User avatar
Levellass
S-Triazine
Posts: 5261
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 6:40

Post by Levellass » Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:11

So... how do I run this GZoom thing? I can use the original Doom files to play a Doom-thingy, but how do I use these .PK3 files for the Spot's collar?
What you really need, not what you think you ought to want.

User avatar
VikingBoyBilly
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 4155
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 2:06
Location: The spaghetti island of the faces of dinosaur world for a vacation

Post by VikingBoyBilly » Sun Jun 28, 2009 19:52

you use a command line to load them. i.e., "GZDOOM whatever.pk3 somethingelse.pk3 etcetera.pk3...". This is only necessary if you need to load multiple files though. I'm not sure if you can just drag and drop them.

Somewhere along the line WAD files got deprecated by pk3 files, which are basically the same thing but are designed for flexibility and is easier on the programmer. I won't bore you with the techno-jargon of differences :crazy
Image
"I don't trust players. Not one bit." - Levellass

Sslaxx
Grunt
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 22:00
Location: Malvern, Worcs., UK
Contact:

Post by Sslaxx » Mon Jun 29, 2009 16:03

VikingBoyBilly wrote:you use a command line to load them. i.e., "GZDOOM whatever.pk3 somethingelse.pk3 etcetera.pk3...". This is only necessary if you need to load multiple files though. I'm not sure if you can just drag and drop them.

Somewhere along the line WAD files got deprecated by pk3 files, which are basically the same thing but are designed for flexibility and is easier on the programmer. I won't bore you with the techno-jargon of differences :crazy
Not quite. PK3 files are in fact just ZIP files (as are, in fact, OpenOffice.org files).
Stuart "Sslaxx" Moore.

Dynamo
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 779
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 22:03
Location: Everywhere.

Post by Dynamo » Mon Jun 29, 2009 18:36

Levellass wrote:So... how do I run this GZoom thing? I can use the original Doom files to play a Doom-thingy, but how do I use these .PK3 files for the Spot's collar?
Drag them into GZDoom.exe

Post Reply