Meaning of ST5UNST.LOG (Netkeen 1 and 2)

You can discuss anything about fan-made Commander Keen games here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Quillax
Vortininja
Posts: 194
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 14:41
Contact:

Meaning of ST5UNST.LOG (Netkeen 1 and 2)

Post by Quillax »

There are two old fangames called NetKeen and NetKeen 2 (made by Zbad, not to be confused with lemm's NetKeen). When installed, each game comes with a log file, named ST5UNST.LOG that starts with these lines:

Code: Select all

 %% PLEASE DO NOT MODIFY OR DELETE THIS FILE! %%
 %% This file contains information about the installation of an application. %%
 %% It will be used to automatically remove all application components from your computer if you choose to do so. %%
The third line is very questionable. If you disobeyed the written rule, does the game remove the files that were just installed or every single file in the computer? If it's the latter, then that would mean the games have malware. Very destructive malware! They might have to be removed from KeenWiki. Or is it all fake -- meaning nothing happens? I think this question is very important. I just don't know if anyone wants to take chances -- I sure don't.
Quillax Ship - Where you can download all of my cool, keen mods and super-marvelous fangames!

Benvolio
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 710
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 12:43
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Re: Meaning of ST5UNST.LOG (Netkeen 1 and 2)

Post by Benvolio »

My guess is that it is just innocent tomfoolery, the kind of joke that would have gone down better in the carefree '90s/early '00s than nowadays. But better to run it on a clean set up or VM first just to be sure...

User avatar
K1n9_Duk3
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 660
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 9:30
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Meaning of ST5UNST.LOG (Netkeen 1 and 2)

Post by K1n9_Duk3 »

I think this is a log file created by an installer program. I think this should contain a list of files that the installer copied onto the system. The uninstaller would have used this file to remove all of the files that the installer has created, that's why you shouldn't modify the file.

The "if you choose to do so" part probably means "if you choose to remove the program" (i.e. run the uninstaller), not "if you choose to modify this file".
Hail to the K1n9, baby!
http://k1n9duk3.shikadi.net

Post Reply