Making a Fanart: Correct Anatomy of a Vorticon

This is where you can post your Commander Keen related stories, artwork, or other stuff that is related to Commander Keen but otherwise doesn't belong in another forum.
VortiLion
Meep

Making a Fanart: Correct Anatomy of a Vorticon

Post by VortiLion »

Hello fellow Commander Keen fans, name's "VortiLion" and I am an artist.

And one of my current projects is the creation of "modernized" and hi-definition digital artworks of the Commander Keen universe.

One of my particular target right now is the Vorticon race - which made me curious so I want to ask if anyone knows the answer to this?

How many fingers in each paws does a normal vorticon supposed to have? Perhaps it would be better if someone would tell me how exactly their creators (id software) designed them. I just want to make sure that I will correctly draw them in the way they were original made - hoping to remain as faithful to the original Keenery as possible. Thanks.

Sincerely yours in dispensing intergalactic justice,
VortiLion
Mr. 314
Vortininja
Location: If I knew Do you really think I'd actually tell you???

Post by Mr. 314 »

i might just join in on this :) i always thought they had two fingers and a thumb, but i could be wrong. after all, i just recently found out i've been pronouncing 'shikadi' wrong all these years :dopekeen
time's wasting and evil doesn't thwart itself
VikingBoyBilly
Vorticon Elite
Location: The spaghetti island of the faces of dinosaur world for a vacation

Post by VikingBoyBilly »

The end screen picture shows the vorticon's hand.
"I don't trust players. Not one bit." - Levellass
guynietoren
Vorticon Elite

Post by guynietoren »

I vote 2 fingers and a thumb from the artwork.
Roobar
Vorticon Elite

Post by Roobar »

Well, I vote for 4 fingers. E.T. has four:

Two or three would be too few. I would also go further and say they also have a fifth undeveloped one.
Mr. 314
Vortininja