Keen 1 mod: Mars Kingdoms

This is where you can post your Commander Keen related stories, artwork, or other stuff that is related to Commander Keen but otherwise doesn't belong in another forum.
thehackercat
Yorp Doctor

Keen 1 mod: Mars Kingdoms

Post by thehackercat »

Hi y'all.

I'm working on becoming a modder, and I've decided to do a Keen 1 mod first. After all, what better way to start than with the first episode?

However, I'm not that good at modifying tilesets, and I've never been good at story-writing. I need some people to help me out here!

I guess I should give you an outline of what I want the story to be.
thehackercat
Yorp Doctor

Post by thehackercat »

Ahh.. I've never been one for long first posts.
...Although this is kind of cheating.

This episode takes place between Keen 3 and Keen Dreams. (Which took place after Keen 3, I presume, hence the reference in the ASCII story to a Vorticon Hyperpistol.)

Keen travels back to Mars to spread some galactic justice, when he notices that a group of Gargs are terrorizing a baby Yorp. As his little buddy Spot is a Yorp, he feels righteously angry, (:x) and attacks the nearest Garg. The rest of the group stop pummeling the Yorp and turn their attention to Keen instead. They rush at our hero with malice in their eyes. The next thing Keen knows, he's locked in a dungeon of sorts.

Keen sees a guard come into his cell. It is a (insert creature name here), a Vorticon replacement in the game. After a brief silence, Keen pulls off his helmet and knocks him cold. Taking a key from the guard, Keen finds his hyperpistol and pogo stick just outside the door. Now the fun begins... OVERTHROWING THE GARG REGIME!

But a few questions bounce around in his 314-IQ mind:

Who the heck ARE the (insert creature name here)s?
Why are they on Mars?
Do they work with the Gargs?
WHERE IS SPOT?!?!?!?!?!