[v2.11.1] Abiathar: The superior Keen Galaxy editor

Here is where to post about the latest Commander Keen fangame or modification you've finished, a new website you've made, or another Keen-related creation.
User avatar
Fleexy
Tool Smith
Posts: 1370
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 1:21
Location: Abiathar C&C
Contact:

Post by Fleexy » Wed Jun 08, 2016 18:34

Nisaba wrote:ps.: but I'm still looking for an indicator which tells the name of the currently opened .adeps file. working on multiple sessions at the same time might cause confusions from time to time.
That's a great idea. I'll be sure to include it in the next update.

Oh, and I forgot to mention that in this update, I also added a better error message for extension load failures caused by the Zone.Identifier tag. Hopefully that will reduce confusion for people who develop and use extensions. (Thanks to KeenRush for reminding me of that problem.)

User avatar
Nisaba
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 981
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 23:34
Location: The Outpost
Contact:

Post by Nisaba » Thu Jun 09, 2016 12:21

speaking of extensions: have you ever thought about implementing something like that GalaxyView tool by K1n9 Duk3, which allows to extract maps plus sprites.

As you might have noticed I'm a bit into that graphic-updating thing for the Keen wiki. sometimes it takes me ages to insert the enemy sprites at the right spots. so a solution within abiathar will be appreciated. maybe in a extension kind of manner?
What do you think?
"We have come to conquer you all and bring you lots of candy!" | about me | my current project: play Keen mods on a GameBoy |

User avatar
Levellass
S-Triazine
Posts: 5261
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 6:40

Post by Levellass » Fri Jun 10, 2016 10:41

Very nice. I shall use this on my current project, which has some novel non-link infoplane values that can confuse things.
What you really need, not what you think you ought to want.

User avatar
Fleexy
Tool Smith
Posts: 1370
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 1:21
Location: Abiathar C&C
Contact:

Post by Fleexy » Thu Jul 28, 2016 19:02

UPDATE
v2.8.5: more tool improvements

It's been a while since I've pushed out an update! I've improved a few small things.

The conveyor tile properties (both directions, plus a weird jiggling effect) now appear for all Galaxy episodes because they work in all episodes! Even existing dependency files will get the new properties magically upgraded in.

The number format settings are now respected by all tools. Before, the Tile Property Modifier and Level Inspector (among others) would always show coordinates in decimal even when you had chosen such numbers to show in hex, but that's fixed now.

A weird glitch in the Tile Instance Remapper involving (0, 0) as a selection corner was fixed.

The Tile Property Modifier now lets you right-click a tile to set the current tile's animation link to it and then select the new tile, for ease of making loops. If you hold Shift while right-clicking, it will only create the link without selecting anything else.

The current dependency file's name now shows in the title bar of the main window.

A couple new methods and a new event bus appeared in the extension API. Most notably, extensions can now test for the presence of other extensions and then communicate with those other extensions using the new "measurement" system.

The UNLZEXE program is now downloaded on demand instead of coming packed in the Abiathar executable. That shaves off a full megabyte.

Image

Those are the new features, but I'd like to remind everyone of the mini-palettes that were introduced in v2.4. You can press Alt+Up and Alt+Down followed by a numeric keypad digit to store or get (respectively) a tile in your mini-palette for the most recently active plane. It's a pretty neat feature, in my opinion.

Get the new version with the automatic updater, or download ZIP.

Happy modding!

User avatar
Nisaba
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 981
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 23:34
Location: The Outpost
Contact:

Post by Nisaba » Thu Jul 28, 2016 21:02

Dropbox wrote:Error (429)
This account's links are generating too much traffic and have been temporarily disabled!
cute!
"We have come to conquer you all and bring you lots of candy!" | about me | my current project: play Keen mods on a GameBoy |

Keening_Product
Kuliwho?
Posts: 2092
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 7:02
Location: Tied up in the Oracle Chamber's basement
Contact:

Post by Keening_Product » Thu Jul 28, 2016 22:28

Well done Fleexy, you broke Dropbox.

One could say you... dropped it. 8)
"Wise words. One day I may even understand what they mean." - Levellass

User avatar
Fleexy
Tool Smith
Posts: 1370
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 1:21
Location: Abiathar C&C
Contact:

Post by Fleexy » Thu Jul 28, 2016 23:07

Whoops, I guess things are broken at the moment. I've contacted Dropbox. If you're really eager to get the new version, you can download the ZIP from the Amazon S3 cloud.

User avatar
Nisaba
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 981
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 23:34
Location: The Outpost
Contact:

Post by Nisaba » Sun Jul 31, 2016 22:33

Code: Select all

 ' Settings for the Export Image menu option
BitmapExporter: {
  ' Crop out the 2-tile-wide level border
 ClipLevelBorders: False
  ' Respect the current zoom level (uses 16 pixels per tile if False)
 PreserveZoomLevel: False
  ' Remove the 'image saved' confirmation message
 SuppressConfirm: False
  ' Generate filename from level info: %l = level name, %n = level number, %p = Abiathar directory, %d = resource directory, %f = .adeps name
 AutoFilename: %n %l.png
}
won't work with version 2.8.5...
"We have come to conquer you all and bring you lots of candy!" | about me | my current project: play Keen mods on a GameBoy |

User avatar
Levellass
S-Triazine
Posts: 5261
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 6:40

Post by Levellass » Mon Aug 01, 2016 11:03

Impressive, impressive. (Noting though, is it possible to implement UNLZEXE in Abiatar itself? How complex is its code?)

These are some nifty and welcome changes. (Wondering if that weird jiggly effect relates to the switches in Keen 6, must investigate.)
What you really need, not what you think you ought to want.

User avatar
Fleexy
Tool Smith
Posts: 1370
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 1:21
Location: Abiathar C&C
Contact:

Post by Fleexy » Mon Aug 01, 2016 20:49

Thanks for the note, Nisaba. That bug only happens when you're working on a new project, so saving the dependency file will get around it. I think that problem has been there for quite a while, actually. I'll fix it in the next version. Sorry about that.

Levellass, it looks like UNLZEXE is a little tricky but not too bad. (I'm not sure why the UNLZEXE program is so huge, then. 1MB to just decompress stuff!) There's also C source code for it, but my C is weak. I'll look into it.

User avatar
Nisaba
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 981
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 23:34
Location: The Outpost
Contact:

Post by Nisaba » Mon Aug 01, 2016 22:47

Fleexy wrote:Thanks for the note, Nisaba. That bug only happens when you're working on a new project, so saving the dependency file will get around it. I think that problem has been there for quite a while, actually. I'll fix it in the next version. Sorry about that.
nope! it also appears on already dependancy wise saved projects. over here I cannot get around this prob.
"We have come to conquer you all and bring you lots of candy!" | about me | my current project: play Keen mods on a GameBoy |

User avatar
MoffD
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1193
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 17:30
Location: /dev/null
Contact:

Post by MoffD » Tue Aug 02, 2016 1:12

Fleexy wrote:C source code for it, but my C is weak. I'll look into it.
int isjapan(void);
and
#define iskanji(c)
Those are amusing functions to have. Understandable, but amusing.
That does seem rather large for the size of the source code though.
mortimermcmirestinks wrote: Now I wish MoffD wasn't allergic to me.
Levellass wrote:You're an evil man.
Image

User avatar
Fleexy
Tool Smith
Posts: 1370
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 1:21
Location: Abiathar C&C
Contact:

Post by Fleexy » Tue Aug 02, 2016 2:37

Nisaba wrote:nope! it also appears on already dependancy wise saved projects. over here I cannot get around this prob.
Just to be clear, it produces a "Failed to save image" message (or something to that effect)? Also check that the level's name doesn't have any characters that are illegal in file names, like a question mark or a pipe. If the problem is still happening, I'll send you a debug build tomorrow.

User avatar
Nisaba
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 981
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 23:34
Location: The Outpost
Contact:

Post by Nisaba » Tue Aug 02, 2016 10:52

oh fleexy.... shame on me!!!
it does say "Failed to save image" but of course I used some illegal characters. damn! sorry I bothered you on that, it was all my fault.
so by deleting those characters everything works just fine.

Image
Last edited by Nisaba on Mon Oct 22, 2018 23:07, edited 1 time in total.
"We have come to conquer you all and bring you lots of candy!" | about me | my current project: play Keen mods on a GameBoy |

User avatar
Levellass
S-Triazine
Posts: 5261
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 6:40

Post by Levellass » Sat Aug 06, 2016 1:04

Hmmmn, may need to autodetect those.

The horrors of typography.
What you really need, not what you think you ought to want.

Post Reply