[v2.11.1] Abiathar: The superior Keen Galaxy editor

Here is where to post about the latest Commander Keen fangame or modification you've finished, a new website you've made, or another Keen-related creation.
User avatar
Quillax
Vortininja
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 14:41
Contact:

Re: [v2.8.7] Abiathar: The superior Keen Galaxy editor

Post by Quillax » Sat Feb 25, 2017 2:05

Ah, okay! Didn't know those features existed already until now. Good to know that the features exist. :D

User avatar
Quillax
Vortininja
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 14:41
Contact:

Re: [v2.8.7] Abiathar: The superior Keen Galaxy editor

Post by Quillax » Tue Feb 28, 2017 19:05

Uh, Fleexy, you wouldn't mind if you could please tell how to import NetKeen levels with Abiathar? I tried doing that by using level and graphic files in the NetKeen Modding and Leveling Package, and this is what the results looked like (I'm viewing the Border Town map):

Image

User avatar
Nisaba
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 772
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 23:34
Location: The Outpost
Contact:

Re: [v2.8.7] Abiathar: The superior Keen Galaxy editor

Post by Nisaba » Tue Feb 28, 2017 19:45

"We have come to conquer you all and bring you lots of candy!" | about me | my current project: play Keen mods on a GameBoy |

User avatar
Quillax
Vortininja
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 14:41
Contact:

Re: [v2.8.7] Abiathar: The superior Keen Galaxy editor

Post by Quillax » Tue Feb 28, 2017 20:41

Nisaba wrote:
Tue Feb 28, 2017 19:45
@Quinton, check this: https://youtu.be/xi6uctLIWgg?t=11m21s
I checked out that video, inserted NK between the <ActiveProfiles> area, but I still get the screen in my previous post. :confused

User avatar
Fleexy
Tool Smith
Posts: 1353
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 1:21
Location: Abiathar C&C
Contact:

Re: [v2.8.7] Abiathar: The superior Keen Galaxy editor

Post by Fleexy » Tue Feb 28, 2017 21:07

Sorry for the confusion; that guide is pretty old. As of v2.0, you can simply use the NetKeen profile found in the New Project Wizard. Then, instead of using the stuff from the Modding and Leveling Package, just open the CKV files from the normal download's "game" folder. Make sure you handle tileinfo as part of the map header. This approach works for me on the data from the wiki's NK:V download link. The first level (world map) is garbage; that's normal. I would upload an image of it working, but Imgur seems to be experiencing interruptions.

User avatar
nanomekia
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 428
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 19:11
Location: FARM COUNTRY!
Contact:

Re: [v2.8.7] Abiathar: The superior Keen Galaxy editor

Post by nanomekia » Tue Feb 28, 2017 22:46

Fleexy wrote:
Tue Feb 28, 2017 21:07
but Imgur seems to be experiencing interruptions.
A service that a LOT of websites use has gone down and has no ETA on when it'll be back yet. Imgur is also using that service.
Writer. Translator. Player of games. Only bites on alternate Tuesdays.

"Just when I manage to prove my superiority I walk into a door."

User avatar
Quillax
Vortininja
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 14:41
Contact:

Re: [v2.8.7] Abiathar: The superior Keen Galaxy editor

Post by Quillax » Wed Mar 01, 2017 0:17

Well, I managed to figure out a way to properly import NetKeen levels. Thanks, Fleexy! :D Though, when checking out the level list, I found another problem. The list can't go beyond level 36, which means that there is no way get to level 37 and onward without creating a new level in their place (unless I missed something).

User avatar
Fleexy
Tool Smith
Posts: 1353
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 1:21
Location: Abiathar C&C
Contact:

Re: [v2.8.7] Abiathar: The superior Keen Galaxy editor

Post by Fleexy » Wed Mar 01, 2017 0:52

NetKeen might have an upper limit less than the normal 99; I don't remember for sure. You can add a new level to the level set with Level | Add, or duplicate an existing one with Level | Copy. If NetKeen doesn't see a level beyond a certain ID, you'll need to overwrite a lower-numbered one. You can renumber a level in the Level | Properties window.

User avatar
Quillax
Vortininja
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 14:41
Contact:

Re: [v2.8.7] Abiathar: The superior Keen Galaxy editor

Post by Quillax » Wed Mar 01, 2017 1:17

Last time I checked, you can't select levels beyond 59 (Vorticons has only 43 levels, with an extra one made by me, which appears to freeze shortly after I start it). I could try your suggestions.

User avatar
Nisaba
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 772
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 23:34
Location: The Outpost
Contact:

Re: [v2.8.7] Abiathar: The superior Keen Galaxy editor

Post by Nisaba » Sat Mar 18, 2017 19:21

Bug Report:
Abiathar constantly crashes when trying to generate patches for a KDreams mod. the aerrl file states that it couldn't find KDRPATCH.EXE.
side-note: the machine I'm running Abiathar in has no internet connection.
"We have come to conquer you all and bring you lots of candy!" | about me | my current project: play Keen mods on a GameBoy |

User avatar
Fleexy
Tool Smith
Posts: 1353
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 1:21
Location: Abiathar C&C
Contact:

Re: [v2.8.7] Abiathar: The superior Keen Galaxy editor

Post by Fleexy » Sat Mar 18, 2017 19:55

Oops, this bug affects patch generation for all games. You can work around it by placing a file - any file, even an empty one - called KDRPATCH.EXE (or the appropriate patching program) in the project folder. In fact, you can get the right one out of the File Emitter. This should be pretty easy to fix; I'll get on that.

User avatar
Fleexy
Tool Smith
Posts: 1353
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 1:21
Location: Abiathar C&C
Contact:

Re: [v2.8.7] Abiathar: The superior Keen Galaxy editor

Post by Fleexy » Fri Mar 24, 2017 16:30

Nisaba wrote:
Sat Mar 18, 2017 19:21
Bug Report:
Abiathar constantly crashes when trying to generate patches for a KDreams mod. the aerrl file states that it couldn't find KDRPATCH.EXE.
side-note: the machine I'm running Abiathar in has no internet connection.
This should be fixed now. Thanks again!

UPDATE
v2.8.8: fixed patch generator and performance improvements

The patch generator now correctly determines whether it needs to add or replace a patching executable.

Performance should be even better now - the ancient event bus system (literally untouched since v1.0) has finally been rewritten. It now only searches for event handlers once, after extensions are loaded. Existing extensions should see no change. Additionally, some unnecessary value type boxing-unboxings have been removed.

Get the update through the automatic updater, or download ZIP.

Fleexy

User avatar
Bubzrulz
Vortininja
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 13:21

Re: [v2.8.8] Abiathar: The superior Keen Galaxy editor

Post by Bubzrulz » Sat Mar 25, 2017 21:49

so how long has ms paint been in the file emitter? i just noticed it been looking for it for a while everytime i found one before it never worked right but i'm a happy man now let more modding begin

User avatar
Bubzrulz
Vortininja
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 13:21

Re: [v2.8.8] Abiathar: The superior Keen Galaxy editor

Post by Bubzrulz » Sun Mar 26, 2017 9:16

ok for the life of me i cant get doors to work at all in k6 work it out by copying another level but what background tiles should be used instead of copying the background tiles from every door

User avatar
Fleexy
Tool Smith
Posts: 1353
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 1:21
Location: Abiathar C&C
Contact:

Re: [v2.8.8] Abiathar: The superior Keen Galaxy editor

Post by Fleexy » Sun Mar 26, 2017 17:45

The background tiles don't have any effect; that plane is only cosmetic. There are invisible foreground tiles that provide the "door" behavior. In Keen 6, you need tile 0401h (1025 in decimal). You can check whether you have the right one by enabling the Tile Properties overlay and showing the Door special property in the "tileinfo overlay settings" window: a D will appear over door tiles.

Post Reply