Atroxian Realm

Here is where to post about the latest Commander Keen fangame or modification you've finished, a new website you've made, or another Keen-related creation.
User avatar
Levellass
S-Triazine
Posts: 5261
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 6:40

Post by Levellass » Thu Apr 21, 2016 6:16

You may want to build a less resource-intensive version of that level, as an alternative for people who experience problems.
What you really need, not what you think you ought to want.

User avatar
joe-ilya
Vortininja
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 18:53
Location: Also on doomworld

Post by joe-ilya » Wed Jun 08, 2016 16:54

There's this bug in the level "Krilewood Forest" ; if you try to look down at this exact spot, Keen will spaz out between a pole position and a standing position instantly.

Image

https://youtu.be/hfjIoC4deYM?t=46s (in action)
Me and omer made a rainbow dash HUD for doom, for our mistake most of the doomers are anti-bronies. Image
Image

User avatar
Keening_Product
Kuliwho?
Posts: 2063
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 7:02
Location: Tied up in the Oracle Chamber's basement
Contact:

Post by Keening_Product » Wed Jun 08, 2016 16:58

I'm not sure that's the link you meant to leave, haha.
Image
"Wise words. One day I may even understand what they mean." - Levellass

User avatar
Nisaba
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 822
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 23:34
Location: The Outpost
Contact:

Post by Nisaba » Wed Jun 08, 2016 20:37

"We have come to conquer you all and bring you lots of candy!" | about me | my current project: play Keen mods on a GameBoy |

User avatar
Gridlock
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 529
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2010 2:20

Post by Gridlock » Wed Jun 08, 2016 23:05

Thanks for reporting this. Nisaba did already find that one, but I appreciate any bug reports.

I should really get around to getting an updated version out. I'm not sure how many people care about the update, but it would be nice to have. I am curious just how many people ended up playing the game, because it doesn't seem like all that many.

Anyway, I'm working on a smaller project right now, and I may be revealing a few screens from that soon.
Image
Armageddon Begins Again. The Alphamatic has arrived.

Atroxian Realm: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=3536
The Alphamatic: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=4086

User avatar
keenmaster486
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 479
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2016 18:29
Location: Tranquility Base
Contact:

Post by keenmaster486 » Thu Jun 09, 2016 3:33

I'm playing it! I find it excellent so far, although I do get out of memory errors more frequently than I should (it reports well over 400k of memory). Any way to fix that?
I flermmed the plootash just like you asked.
Very silly indeed: https://audaxeundum.wordpress.com/

User avatar
Keening_Product
Kuliwho?
Posts: 2063
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 7:02
Location: Tied up in the Oracle Chamber's basement
Contact:

Post by Keening_Product » Thu Jun 09, 2016 3:52

Running natively on old hardware I assume, keenmaster486?
Image
"Wise words. One day I may even understand what they mean." - Levellass

User avatar
keenmaster486
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 479
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2016 18:29
Location: Tranquility Base
Contact:

Post by keenmaster486 » Thu Jun 09, 2016 4:30

Erm... Correct. I guess I should try it in DOSBox first? I didn't think that was specifically the problem since the executable said in the startup screen that it had plenty of memory... Maybe I'll try changing up my config file and see what happens. In the meantime I'll see if I can replicate the error in DOSBox tomorrow since I have a saved game which gives me the error every time upon entering the next level. :)
I flermmed the plootash just like you asked.
Very silly indeed: https://audaxeundum.wordpress.com/

User avatar
Keening_Product
Kuliwho?
Posts: 2063
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 7:02
Location: Tied up in the Oracle Chamber's basement
Contact:

Post by Keening_Product » Thu Jun 09, 2016 5:18

The very first instruction in the very first post of this thread is "you will need DosBox to play this mod."

I'm not saying it that way to be rude, I'm really glad people try playing mods on old hardware, but rather to emphasise how likely it is the issue is being caused by how you're loading the game.
Image
"Wise words. One day I may even understand what they mean." - Levellass

User avatar
Nisaba
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 822
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 23:34
Location: The Outpost
Contact:

Post by Nisaba » Thu Jun 09, 2016 7:14

Gridlock wrote:I should really get around to getting an updated version out: I'm not sure how many people care about the update, but it would be nice to have.
hell yeah! please do that, that would be so nice. 'caus only if it don't bother you doing so. I didn't wanna trouble you, so I haven't asked for an update in the first place. thought you might need a brake on working on your unrivalled creation. but now that you mention it, I can't await to get again sucked into the story of yours.
Gridlock wrote:I am curious just how many people ended up playing the game, because it doesn't seem like all that many.
really? at least for me I spread this splendid mod around my circle of (childhood) friends. Most of them don't follow threads like this, but when it comes to Keening, they all have this little flame blazing ever since. so that is thirteen people and I know that two of them handed it over to their buddies as well. over here it circulates maybe without your knowing.
"We have come to conquer you all and bring you lots of candy!" | about me | my current project: play Keen mods on a GameBoy |

User avatar
joe-ilya
Vortininja
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 18:53
Location: Also on doomworld

Post by joe-ilya » Thu Jun 09, 2016 17:50

What about this missing tile in "Port Atrox"?

Image
Me and omer made a rainbow dash HUD for doom, for our mistake most of the doomers are anti-bronies. Image
Image

User avatar
Keening_Product
Kuliwho?
Posts: 2063
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 7:02
Location: Tied up in the Oracle Chamber's basement
Contact:

Post by Keening_Product » Thu Jun 09, 2016 18:15

Levellass found that tile issue on Page 5: viewtopic.php?t=3536&postdays=0&postord ... x&start=60

This is a short thread, so looking back at screenshots on previous pages could save you time uploading identical screenshots in the future.
Image
"Wise words. One day I may even understand what they mean." - Levellass

User avatar
joe-ilya
Vortininja
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 18:53
Location: Also on doomworld

Post by joe-ilya » Thu Jun 09, 2016 20:26

Alright, I looked through this thread and didn't see this bug mentioned :

In the main map, when you bump into lazer beams or something and the dialog passes ; all the digits in the scorebox dissappear. :bloody
Me and omer made a rainbow dash HUD for doom, for our mistake most of the doomers are anti-bronies. Image
Image

User avatar
Nisaba
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 822
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 23:34
Location: The Outpost
Contact:

Post by Nisaba » Thu Jun 09, 2016 20:41

Keening_Product wrote:Levellass found that tile issue on Page 5: viewtopic.php?t=3536&postdays=0&postord ... x&start=60
someone else also found that tile issue on Page 4 as well: https://pckf.rigeltechnical.com/viewtopic.php?p=792 ... rox.#79250
"We have come to conquer you all and bring you lots of candy!" | about me | my current project: play Keen mods on a GameBoy |

User avatar
Roobar
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 2793
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 16:12

Post by Roobar » Fri Jun 10, 2016 4:47

When will a new version be released?

Post Reply