Atroxian Realm

Here is where to post about the latest Commander Keen fangame or modification you've finished, a new website you've made, or another Keen-related creation.
User avatar
Fleexy
Tool Smith
Posts: 1357
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 1:21
Location: Abiathar C&C
Contact:

Post by Fleexy » Sun Jan 17, 2016 3:25

The testing playthrough videos that I did a few months ago had two purposes: to show Gridlock how new players approach the levels and to eventually entertain the general public. Now that Atroxian Realm is out, you can enjoy watching me run through this incredible mod. Note that the issues I identified have long been fixed, so the game is different than the one you'll see me play.

Episode 1

These are all recorded already, of course, but I'll release just one per day to give myself time to finish editing the later episodes for a public audience. :dopekeen To see when new episodes go up, subscribe to my YouTube channel or monitor the Fleex Plays Keen thread.

User avatar
Levellass
S-Triazine
Posts: 5261
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 6:40

Post by Levellass » Sun Jan 17, 2016 7:29

Dipping my toes into it, probably won't getnear being able to properly play a level a day. Tried to make a Keenwiki page for it but...

Me: Keengraph, extract these graphics!

KG: Sure, these aren't normal Keen Galaxy graphics, but I'll do it anyway!

Me: Abiathar, you've just opened with an intro screen about this mod that you were used in, open the levels so I can bitmap them and upload.

Abiathar: *Screams in terror and crashes*

Me: Huh, well that's a thing.



Looking through the resources, shouldn't the word "Earth' always be capitalized? It's a proper noun right? Loved the story sequences, especially the facing Atroxus one.
What you really need, not what you think you ought to want.

User avatar
{DARKDUNE}
Vortininja
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 13:00
Location: Germany

Post by {DARKDUNE} » Sun Jan 17, 2016 11:43

when i destroy the generator in the mines, it sais 'out of memory' and the game crashes.
what to do?
Netkeen TUIT coming up

User avatar
Nospike
Keen Minecrafter
Posts: 1308
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 13:56
Location: Carlsbad, Czech Republic

Post by Nospike » Sun Jan 17, 2016 12:56

Looks fantastic! Gonna stream my first playthrough shortly. twitch.tv/torchie8 if you're interested.
It just might be done someday. The chance is always there.

User avatar
SupKeen
Grunt
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 19:29

Post by SupKeen » Sun Jan 17, 2016 13:46

Atroxian Realm is so cool!!!

Congratulations

I have a little problem with "two button firing on" option (doesn't work)


Again, this mod is amazing!!

User avatar
Fleexy
Tool Smith
Posts: 1357
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 1:21
Location: Abiathar C&C
Contact:

Post by Fleexy » Sun Jan 17, 2016 16:09

Levellass wrote:Abiathar: *Screams in terror and crashes*
Yeah, Atroxian Realm has a different EGA layout than any standard Keen Galaxy episode. At the moment, there isn't any logic to auto-detect the layout, so it freaks out and dies when it hits a chunk that isn't the right shape. You'll need to configure the EGA Layout by using the advanced option in the New Project Wizard. (If KG spits out the discovered chunk layout, that would be a good place to get the right numbers.) Also, Gridlock and Lemm will be publishing the modding materials soon, and the correct ADEPS will be there.

If you were using tile sheet bitmaps, you either need to set the correct amount of foreground and background tiles in Tile Partitioning (AR's are different from any standard CKG episode) or disable tileinfo loading, since all the tileinfo is kept in the MAPHEAD.

If you have additional trouble or curiosity, send me the crash log so I can have a look.

Edit: The following settings work for me:
- Level Format: Carmack
- EGA Layout: 3, 533, 1386, 1919, 3204
- Tile Partitioning: 1386, 3204, 108
- Level Files: maptemp.ckd, maphead.ckd
- Graphics Files: EGAGRAPH.CKD, EGAHEAD.CKD, EGADICT.CKD
- Tileinfo Source: Manage tileinfo as part of the map header

Proof:
Image

Note that since Infoplane Override was used, the real infoplane icons don't ship with the game.

User avatar
Gridlock
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 529
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2010 2:20

Post by Gridlock » Sun Jan 17, 2016 18:15

when i destroy the generator in the mines, it sais 'out of memory' and the game crashes.
what to do?
This is unfortunate. Do you have any save files close to this point where you could try it again? These memory issues are usually pretty fickle, and I'm betting the crash wouldn't recur. However, if you need to, you can enter the Atroxian Mines level and use the F-10+E cheat to quickly finish the level. This will have the safe effect as destroying the generator.
I have a little problem with "two button firing on" option (doesn't work)
This was probably overlooked when coding all the features for the new engine. Hopefully it can be added in a future version release. Sorry if that inconveniences you.
Looks fantastic! Gonna stream my first playthrough shortly. twitch.tv/torchie8 if you're interested.
I would greatly enjoy seeing a playthrough!

Thanks for all the thoughts everyone. Keep at it. :)
Image
Armageddon Begins Again. The Alphamatic has arrived.

Atroxian Realm: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=3536
The Alphamatic: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=4086

User avatar
Roobar
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 2793
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 16:12

Post by Roobar » Sun Jan 17, 2016 20:19

Gridlock wrote:
I would greatly enjoy seeing a playthrough!

Thanks for all the thoughts everyone. Keep at it. :)
I'm doing a playthrough, but I can't manage the voice over the in-game audio. Watching these and I can hardly hear what I'm talking. So probably I won't upload.

megacyber
Grunt
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 5:15
Location: Dayton, OH

Post by megacyber » Mon Jan 18, 2016 4:08

I just want to say, I've been lurking the development thread for years now waiting for this to release, and I have to say it's been worth the wait. From what I've played so far, (and as far as I understand how these things work), it sets a new standard as far as what is possible with these mods. Thank you for creating such a wonderful game!

User avatar
T-Squared
Vortininja
Posts: 178
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 21:22
Location: Next Sunday, A.D.

Post by T-Squared » Tue Jan 19, 2016 3:18

If anyone is interested, I've posted the entire collection of art that I made for Atroxian Realm on my website.

BE WARNED. THERE ARE SPOILERS IN THIS COLLECTION!

http://tsqproductions.com/cartoonport/images/arart1.png

There will hopefully be more art to include in this collection, as I have more time to make the final story images for v2.0 of Atroxian Realm.
Cosmo II: HUMANIZED!!! Progress:
Graphics: 15% Complete
Story: 100% Complete
Music: 5% Complete
Programming Modifications: ??% Complete

http://www.tsqproductions.com

User avatar
Levellass
S-Triazine
Posts: 5261
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 6:40

Post by Levellass » Tue Jan 19, 2016 9:05

Fleexy wrote:
Levellass wrote:Abiathar: *Screams in terror and crashes*
Yeah, Atroxian Realm has a different EGA layout than any standard Keen Galaxy episode. .
wat.

That's... a surprising weakness there. It's not that hard to autodetect the EGAGRAPH chunk layout. I implemented it in about a day of testing, so I could always open up different versions of Keen. It's always a pleasure to see it effortlessly tackle a new game. I'll see if I can persuade Abi to take a look at things, when I have the time.


In the meantime just looking at palythrough videos, utterly bedazzled but oh so very many issues I'd love to rant about.
What you really need, not what you think you ought to want.

User avatar
Nisaba
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 822
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 23:34
Location: The Outpost
Contact:

Post by Nisaba » Wed Jan 20, 2016 0:18

what???
Image
Last edited by Nisaba on Mon Oct 22, 2018 23:10, edited 1 time in total.
"We have come to conquer you all and bring you lots of candy!" | about me | my current project: play Keen mods on a GameBoy |

User avatar
Levellass
S-Triazine
Posts: 5261
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 6:40

Post by Levellass » Wed Jan 20, 2016 6:30

Yep, I still get a massive failure. If I get some time I'll just open 'em in TED5.
What you really need, not what you think you ought to want.

User avatar
Fleexy
Tool Smith
Posts: 1357
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 1:21
Location: Abiathar C&C
Contact:

Post by Fleexy » Wed Jan 20, 2016 17:36

Heh, yes, the Catacombs are pretty crazy.

Levellass, it sounds like there's something up with your copy of either Abiathar or Atroxian Realm. I successfully opened the release version of AR with Abiathar v2.8.2. Crash logs or a specific error message would be helpful. Until then, please try opening the ADEPS that comes with the source release (see the updated first post). It is the ADEPS that Gridlock actually used, so you'll get the infoplane icons and the official chunk layout.

User avatar
Nisaba
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 822
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 23:34
Location: The Outpost
Contact:

Post by Nisaba » Wed Jan 20, 2016 19:51

@Gridlock: where to post bugs? new thread, pm, here...
"We have come to conquer you all and bring you lots of candy!" | about me | my current project: play Keen mods on a GameBoy |

Post Reply