Duke Nukem 3D Modification with DukeRes, please help me!!

Discuss classic and favorite computer or console games here.
Post Reply
User avatar
szemi
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1623
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 15:19
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Duke Nukem 3D Modification with DukeRes, please help me!!

Post by szemi » Tue Jun 22, 2010 12:05

Hello,i know it's not Duke Nukem forum.

But can anybody help in modificating, i'm trying to use DukeRes programme,but i have a got difficult.
I exported a sprite(in the editor it has got pink background,which means it's invisible),but if i modificate the sprite and i cut and import that,then in the game it'll be pink,so not invisible. How can I solve the problem. Pleease help me!!! :(
Yeah, piece of cake!

User avatar
szemi
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1623
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 15:19
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Post by szemi » Tue Jun 22, 2010 12:43

And one thing,i went to import and i can't import the picture because it says: Only bitmaps with 256 colours are supported in Duke.
Yeah, piece of cake!

NY00123
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 19:36

Post by NY00123 » Tue Jun 22, 2010 12:46

While I haven't really been using Dukeres before and don't remember all details, the following could maybe help:
It'd be good to ensure the modified external file saved still uses the same 256 color palette as before, and not more than 256 colors (e.g. 16-bit or 24-bit).
Also, the Duke palette actually has two occurrences of that pink shade: One which is actual pink, and the other one for transparency.
I think that you can use some key to swap colors in editart, maybe 'c' although I'm not sure.

User avatar
Malvineous
Shikadi Webmaster
Posts: 362
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 21:48
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Post by Malvineous » Tue Jun 22, 2010 23:19

Duke also has a dark purple colour which is used for 50% transparency. The pink colour isn't important, it's the fact that it's the last colour in the palette. It can be any colour you want, they just chose bright pink to make it stand out.

Your image editor seems to be rearranging the palette, which you most certainly don't want!

User avatar
kuliwil
Blue-tongued Yorp
Posts: 1731
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 8:51
Location: Facestalking Commander Spleen.
Contact:

Post by kuliwil » Wed Jun 23, 2010 1:58

Malvineous wrote:Your image editor seems to be rearranging the palette, which you most certainly don't want!
Which editor would you suggest? I'm thinking Photoshop and don't use adaptive gif export, but that's a) Photoshop and b) probably not what you are looking for.
"Hi, I'm Tom Sellick's moustache."
Image

User avatar
K1n9_Duk3
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 536
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 9:30
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by K1n9_Duk3 » Wed Jun 23, 2010 7:31

You could use Photoshop or The GIMP. Both can handle indexed (256 color) images with a custom palette. Just open any image exportet from the Duke files (they should all have the correct colors) and save the palette to a file. Then you should be able to edit the image in any way you want (even going to 16 or 24 bit colors). Just convert the image back to 8 bit using the color palette you saved, and then save as bitmap and import it in DukeRes.

This is how I've done a lot of sprite editing for Wolf3D. I haven't used any Duke modding tools, but this procedure should work for about any game with 8 bit graphics.
Hail to the K1n9, baby!
http://k1n9duk3.shikadi.net

User avatar
szemi
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1623
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 15:19
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Post by szemi » Wed Jun 23, 2010 8:15

kuliwil wrote:
Malvineous wrote:Your image editor seems to be rearranging the palette, which you most certainly don't want!
Which editor would you suggest? I'm thinking Photoshop and don't use adaptive gif export, but that's a) Photoshop and b) probably not what you are looking for.
So Microsoft Paint isn't good?
Yeah, piece of cake!

User avatar
Commander Spleen
Lord of the Foobs
Posts: 2360
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 22:54
Location: Border Village
Contact:

Post by Commander Spleen » Wed Jun 23, 2010 8:28

Is it saving it as 8-bit or 24-bit? I'm pretty sure MS Paint didn't interfere with the palette, so it should be fine as long as you continue saving it as 8-bit.

If it still fails at saving in 8-bit, try opening the unmodified file in GIMP. Edit it in Paint and copy the contents back to the GIMP instance and click Save. This is how I get around the problem with KolourPaint modifying the palette when saving 8-bit images.

User avatar
kuliwil
Blue-tongued Yorp
Posts: 1731
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 8:51
Location: Facestalking Commander Spleen.
Contact:

Post by kuliwil » Wed Jun 23, 2010 9:16

I was under the impression that Pain had its own palette... I may be wrong. I was just thinking that all the bit depth stuff with bitmaps kinda pre-defined it. I just know that you can know for certain what your pallette is in Photoshop and The Gimp.

Maybe Paint.NET is most suited to your needs? {http://www.getpaint.net/}That is, of course, if using MS Paint is the issue.
"Hi, I'm Tom Sellick's moustache."
Image

User avatar
tulip
Flower Pot
Posts: 2520
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:50
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Post by tulip » Wed Jun 23, 2010 9:49

Well I've had palette issues with Paint.NET so I wouldn't trust it with this problem
kuliwil wrote:I was under the impression that Pain had its own palette...
Woo, epic typo.
Image You crack me up little buddy!

User avatar
DaVince
lazy/busy Keener
Posts: 1476
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 15:34
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by DaVince » Wed Jun 23, 2010 12:23

Paint doesn't mess with the palette if you have one, at least for the XP and earlier versions, but its own color picker unfortunately does NOT adapt to this palette so you might be misguided into thinking it saves to some 'default' palette.
Wow look at me I'm lurking

User avatar
szemi
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1623
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 15:19
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Post by szemi » Wed Jun 23, 2010 16:55

sorry i forgot what is GIMP? :D
Yeah, piece of cake!

User avatar
tulip
Flower Pot
Posts: 2520
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:50
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Post by tulip » Wed Jun 23, 2010 17:24

Image You crack me up little buddy!

Post Reply