DUKE NUKEM II LEVEL EDITOR (and other stuff)

Discuss classic and favorite computer or console games here.
User avatar
Levellass
S-Triazine
Posts: 5261
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 6:40

Post by Levellass » Sun Mar 13, 2011 23:43

People never read anything,e vhen when you upload it to Keenwiki. And if they do, they make the most basic of mistakes.
What you really need, not what you think you ought to want.

User avatar
K1n9_Duk3
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 531
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 9:30
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by K1n9_Duk3 » Mon Mar 14, 2011 16:40

Here's a new version of the editor: Version 0.9a

New Stuff:
* You can now edit and create CZone files with the editor.
* Mouse now works on menus, too.
* Provided actor icons for the level editor.
Hail to the K1n9, baby!
http://k1n9duk3.shikadi.net

User avatar
Paramultart
VBB's Partner in Crime
Posts: 3004
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 8:36

Bug found and appended to the message.

Post by Paramultart » Mon Mar 14, 2011 17:34

Levellass wrote:People never read anything,e vhen when you upload it to Keenwiki. And if they do, they make the most basic of mistakes.
* BIG SLAP *
I DID read the readme file. :p
This is what it had to say for d2sic.exe:
d2sic - Solid Image Converter wrote: -----------------------------

Converts solid (unmasked) images to PNG format and back. Will work on any image consisting of 8x8 pixel tiles.

Use this to create/replace backdrop images or to modify STATUS.MNI.

This will always use the default color palette (GAMEPAL.PAL).
Seemed pretty reasonable to me that "solid unmasked images" meant the CZONE tilesets.

Anyway, I'm really happy to see the new version released.
Great to see those features added. I'll get back to work on the levelset asap. :D

EDIT: The CZONE editor looks fantastic, but there is one major issue with the level editor...

It doesn't load level files. That's right. I tried loading L1.MNI as well as a few other unmodified levels, and it said "This is not a valid Duke II file".
What's the deal, eh?
"Father Mabeuf was surveying his plants"

User avatar
K1n9_Duk3
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 531
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 9:30
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by K1n9_Duk3 » Tue Mar 15, 2011 6:21

Just a minor bug. You can still edit levels by dragging them onto the editor's EXE.

I already fixed this and another bug (CZones were saved using the current level's filename instead of the CZone's filename) and replaced the zip file on my web server.
Hail to the K1n9, baby!
http://k1n9duk3.shikadi.net

Nickssoft
Vortininja
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 3:47

Post by Nickssoft » Wed Mar 16, 2011 3:48

Wow, just wow. I have been waiting for years for a Duke Nukem 2 Level editor

Although my first PC game was Commander Keen 1, I was introduced to Duke Nukem 2 on a shareware cd-rom and it became my favorite game of all time

User avatar
K1n9_Duk3
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 531
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 9:30
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by K1n9_Duk3 » Wed Mar 16, 2011 23:14

Small progress update: I think I found out how the format of the introduction sequence (Apogee logo, Duke at the shooting range) works. That means it might even be possible to edit/replace every single image that is used by the game!
Hail to the K1n9, baby!
http://k1n9duk3.shikadi.net

User avatar
kuliwil
Blue-tongued Yorp
Posts: 1731
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 8:51
Location: Facestalking Commander Spleen.
Contact:

Post by kuliwil » Fri Mar 18, 2011 5:22

K1n9_Duk3 wrote:Small progress update: I think I found out how the format of the introduction sequence (Apogee logo, Duke at the shooting range) works. That means it might even be possible to edit/replace every single image that is used by the game!
:drool
Well done! :)
"Hi, I'm Tom Sellick's moustache."
Image

User avatar
Paramultart
VBB's Partner in Crime
Posts: 3004
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 8:36

Post by Paramultart » Fri Mar 18, 2011 15:21

Seems to me like a total-conversion has some potential at this point. :)
"Father Mabeuf was surveying his plants"

Nickssoft
Vortininja
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 3:47

Post by Nickssoft » Fri Mar 18, 2011 23:48

has anyone made any levels yet?

User avatar
K1n9_Duk3
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 531
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 9:30
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by K1n9_Duk3 » Sat Mar 19, 2011 11:01

Nickssoft wrote:has anyone made any levels yet?
Haven't seen any level releases yet.

By the way: I got some very strange results with my implementation of the RLE-compression when compressing the animated files, so there might as well be errors in the RLE implementation that is used to compress parts of the level files. I will take my time to verify the implementation for the next release.
Hail to the K1n9, baby!
http://k1n9duk3.shikadi.net

User avatar
K1n9_Duk3
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 531
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 9:30
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by K1n9_Duk3 » Sun Mar 20, 2011 19:33

Someone on the 3D Realms Forums posted this video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DenOquEm7vA
Hail to the K1n9, baby!
http://k1n9duk3.shikadi.net

User avatar
Paramultart
VBB's Partner in Crime
Posts: 3004
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 8:36

Post by Paramultart » Sun Mar 20, 2011 20:37

"I'm continuing to make more levels and later on a whole level pack."

But... But... I wanted to make the first level pack. :celtic
"Father Mabeuf was surveying his plants"

User avatar
K1n9_Duk3
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 531
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 9:30
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by K1n9_Duk3 » Mon Aug 08, 2011 9:23

I finally managed to fix the errors in my RLE compression code. This means that the next version of the editor will be able to edit the intro animations of the game as well as all of the fullscreen images.

I'm planning to add support for indexed BMP files so that all exported images will be saved with their correct color table (adding a new color for transparency if required). I might also support indexed PNG files, but that will need sone more work on my part (porting the zlib-compression code to BlitzMax). So if you really need to export indexed PNG files, let me know.
Hail to the K1n9, baby!
http://k1n9duk3.shikadi.net

User avatar
K1n9_Duk3
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 531
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 9:30
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by K1n9_Duk3 » Wed Aug 31, 2011 8:30

The new version is finally available: Version 0.9b

New stuff:
- Animation Editor: lets you modify the intro "videos" (images only; sounds and speed are hard-coded in the game)
- Image Converter lets you convert backdrops and any fullscreen image to BMP and back

Have some fun with it.
Hail to the K1n9, baby!
http://k1n9duk3.shikadi.net

User avatar
K1n9_Duk3
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 531
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 9:30
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by K1n9_Duk3 » Tue Mar 05, 2013 12:58

Another update: Version 0.9c

You can now edit Sprites. With this addition, you can now change (almost) every image in the entire game!

The editor also comes with a built-in paint tool "QuickPaint", so that you can edit images without having to export them first.

Both "QuickPaint" and the level editor now have flood fill and undo/redo options.

The VOC converter allows you to convert Wave sounds into VOC files and vice versa.
Hail to the K1n9, baby!
http://k1n9duk3.shikadi.net

Post Reply