ReDuke: Duke Nukem 1 for Windows

Discuss classic and favorite computer or console games here.
User avatar
K1n9_Duk3
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 472
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 9:30
Location: Germany
Contact:

ReDuke: Duke Nukem 1 for Windows

Post by K1n9_Duk3 » Wed May 22, 2013 12:04

Here's something I started in April 2011: ReDuke

It's a re-engineered port of the original Duke Nukem game.

- runs natively in Windows
- supports all three Episodes
- High Scores and saved games are compatible with DOS versions
- supports high-quality graphics (four times higher resolution) and sounds

You'll need the data files from the original DOS games to play ReDuke.

Here's a video of ReDuke playing the preview demo: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fLzTEn7EtZE
(the footage was recorded more than a year ago, so some of the minor issues have already been fixed)

Edit: Link updated.
Last edited by K1n9_Duk3 on Sat Nov 05, 2016 22:28, edited 1 time in total.
Hail to the K1n9, baby!
http://k1n9duk3.shikadi.net

Nickssoft
Vortininja
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 3:47

Post by Nickssoft » Wed May 22, 2013 17:03

this is cool, always love the original duke 1 & 2

User avatar
A Kick in the Pants
Vortininja
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2012 8:32
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by A Kick in the Pants » Tue May 28, 2013 4:37

Very nice, I've been enjoying the original and custom Duke levels with this. I would like to see new versions of this in the future. :)
Also known as "The Ultimate Doomer" and "TheUltimateDoomer666". Keen games I have: all of them.

User avatar
Levellass
S-Triazine
Posts: 5261
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 6:40

Post by Levellass » Tue May 28, 2013 5:11

Indeed, this is a very advanced project. And it extracts the graphics properly!
What you really need, not what you think you ought to want.

User avatar
tulip
Flower Pot
Posts: 2520
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:50
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Post by tulip » Tue May 28, 2013 16:24

eheh, "Beats Nintendo" :D
Image You crack me up little buddy!

User avatar
_mr_m_
Vortimaestro
Posts: 422
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 23:14
Location: A Midwest cornfield

Post by _mr_m_ » Tue May 28, 2013 21:05

What comes next? The 720/1080p remix of this?

This looks very nice, gonna test it out now.

EDIT: This runs super-smooth. I haven't run in to any problems, and I got about halfway through episode 1. I'll test this on an older computer to see how it runs.

Any possibility of a level editor/swapper in the executable?
"I just drew this stupid little fish." -- Tom Hall

User avatar
DoomJedi
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 685
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:22
Location: Israel

Post by DoomJedi » Wed May 29, 2013 5:44

Great work!

User avatar
K1n9_Duk3
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 472
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 9:30
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by K1n9_Duk3 » Thu May 30, 2013 13:00

_mr_m_ wrote:What comes next? The 720/1080p remix of this?
All the basic functions are in there, you'll just need to create hi-res images for ReDuke and name them properly (see the readme.txt). I don't consider myself a pixel artist, so I'd only be stealing artwork if I were to create them.

While stealing artwork would be true to the spirit of Duke Nukem 1 and 2, I really don't feel like violating any more copyrights. Re-engineering the game itself could already be seen as a violation of the terms in the original VENDOR.DOC that comes with the shareware version of Duke Nukem.
_mr_m_ wrote:Any possibility of a level editor/swapper in the executable?

You can already change the names and the total number of level files by editing the STRINGS.DN1.TXT file.
I don't think I'll ever include a "real" level editor that actually saves out level files, but being able to place some tiles or objects while playing the level... that's something I might include.
A Kick in the Pants wrote:I would like to see new versions of this in the future.
Sure, but it would help me if you told me what you'd like to see in those new versions.
Hail to the K1n9, baby!
http://k1n9duk3.shikadi.net

User avatar
tulip
Flower Pot
Posts: 2520
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:50
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Post by tulip » Thu May 30, 2013 15:09

K1n9_Duk3 wrote:Sure, but it would help me if you told me what you'd like to see in those new versions.
Atm a version that runs natively in linux would greatly increase my interest.
Image You crack me up little buddy!

User avatar
Levellass
S-Triazine
Posts: 5261
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 6:40

Post by Levellass » Thu May 30, 2013 20:39

While stealing artwork would be true to the spirit of Duke Nukem 1 and 2, I really don't feel like violating any more copyrights. Re-engineering the game itself could already be seen as a violation of the terms in the original VENDOR.DOC that comes with the shareware version of Duke Nukem.
King Duke is lawful good it seems.
What you really need, not what you think you ought to want.

User avatar
K1n9_Duk3
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 472
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 9:30
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by K1n9_Duk3 » Mon Jun 10, 2013 12:25

tulip wrote:Atm a version that runs natively in linux would greatly increase my interest.
ReDuke was written in BlitzMax, so a linux version of ReDuke would be possible. Unfortunately, there is no free demo of the linux compiler.
Hail to the K1n9, baby!
http://k1n9duk3.shikadi.net

User avatar
K1n9_Duk3
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 472
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 9:30
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by K1n9_Duk3 » Tue Jun 11, 2013 14:48

The second beta of ReDuke was relesed yesterday (see download link in first post).

Changes:
- added QuickSave & QuickLoad
- added customizable controls
- added demo recording
- added auto-scaling for backdrops and full-screen images and custom tile sizes
- added music support
- added "/fixratio", "/nomipmap", "/nofilter" and "/waitkey" parameters
- added support for JPEG images
- improved mirror code (less glitches when screen height is no multiple of 200 pixels)
- main demo now uses last level in the list defined in the string files instead of the hard-coded value 20 (allows variable number of levels)
- external string files now override idividual string sections instead of replacing the internal files completely

Here's a test video showing ReDuke with (some) HD graphics: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uzhR3gMDEqo

I'd like to hear what you think about the new QuickSave feature. If you think it ruins the gameplay, I'll turn it into a cheat/debug feature in future releases.

Whatever your opinion might be, please use the QuickSave and QuickLoad keys excessively! I hope I didn't miss anything while I implemented it, but you can never be too sure.
Hail to the K1n9, baby!
http://k1n9duk3.shikadi.net

User avatar
Levellass
S-Triazine
Posts: 5261
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 6:40

Post by Levellass » Tue Jun 11, 2013 23:13

Seriously?

SERIOUSLY?


I mean damn. Wow. This is like someone took all the Dukes and put them into a blender. I don't know what to say, I really don't.
What you really need, not what you think you ought to want.

User avatar
K1n9_Duk3
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 472
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 9:30
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by K1n9_Duk3 » Wed Jul 03, 2013 9:31

Here's ReDuke Beta 3.

Changes:
- Duke can now do somersaults
- HoverBots can now ascend "stairs" properly
- EnemyShots are less likely to fly through walls

- added DOS end screens (a.k.a. B800 screens)
- added DOS keycode mapper (ReDuke now uses the original KEYS.DN? file to load and store key codes. Keyboard controls should now be exactly like in the DOS version.)
- fixed a bug where files included in the executable could not be read due to case-sensitive extensions
Hail to the K1n9, baby!
http://k1n9duk3.shikadi.net

User avatar
Roobar
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 2793
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 16:12

Post by Roobar » Tue Jul 09, 2013 18:04

I've made a few graphic changes in _tiles.png and renamed it to hq_tiles.png, but that didn't work. Neither are sounds. :confused

Post Reply