ReDuke: Duke Nukem 1 for Windows

Discuss classic and favorite computer or console games here.
User avatar
K1n9_Duk3
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 472
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 9:30
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by K1n9_Duk3 » Wed Jul 17, 2013 12:03

Make sure that the tile sizes of your hq_tiles.png match the numbers in HRP.INI - the default values are 64x64 pixels but the exported tiles are 16x16 (the first ReDuke beta was hard-coded to use 64x64 pixels, that's why that value is in the INI file).

The sounds must be either in OGG or WAV format and must be named 000.wav, 001.wav, 002.wav and so on (or 000.ogg, 001.ogg, 002.ogg ...) otherwise they won't work.

Both the sounds and the image files should be located in the same folder as ReDuke.exe.
Hail to the K1n9, baby!
http://k1n9duk3.shikadi.net

User avatar
Levellass
S-Triazine
Posts: 5261
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 6:40

Post by Levellass » Thu Jul 18, 2013 5:12

I smell a keenification...
What you really need, not what you think you ought to want.

User avatar
guynietoren
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 885
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 2:57
Location: Kansas City
Contact:

Post by guynietoren » Thu Jul 18, 2013 11:45

Levellass wrote:I smell a keenification...
I'm thinking the original Galaxy sprites are 32x32. The few that I made are apparently twice the size they need to be for this I'm guessing. I haven't done the math, but the overall screen size might be too big. Either way it's a lot of work.
Could always keep the galaxy art as is, though still not sure how much could be used.

User avatar
Levellass
S-Triazine
Posts: 5261
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 6:40

Post by Levellass » Fri Jul 19, 2013 5:06

Or use some of the interesting famade sprites that are smaller. There are some nifty 16x32 sprites out there.
What you really need, not what you think you ought to want.

User avatar
guynietoren
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 885
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 2:57
Location: Kansas City
Contact:

Post by guynietoren » Wed Jul 31, 2013 11:50

I tried installing/unpacking Duke 1's shareware episode and my computer failed as it's 64 bit windows 7.

I'm sure Duke 1 doesn't use system files or what not during install. Would it be against copyrights to include the shareware one with Duke1? Or is that merely to avoid suspicion due to Reduke's nature. I figured it was similar to Commander Genius.

I did find a Windows 7 compatible version of Duke 1 after some searching, but haven't tested it yet.

User avatar
K1n9_Duk3
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 472
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 9:30
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by K1n9_Duk3 » Mon Aug 12, 2013 13:40

guynietoren wrote:Would it be against copyrights to include the shareware one with Duke1? Or is that merely to avoid suspicion due to Reduke's nature. I figured it was similar to Commander Genius.
It's a legal grey zone. The game's original licence (VENDOR.DOC) allows you to distribute the games in unmodified form. But it doesn't allow releasing add-ons or editing tools and also prohibits any disassembling or other forms of reverse engineering.

You see, pretty much everything the Keen community has been doing can be considered illegal, including all the patches, mods and even Commander Genius. As I've written before, I don't want to violate any other copyrights, so I won't be releasing ReDuke along with the Duke Nukem games (not even the shareware version). In addition, it might actually make people go and buy the full game on GOG.com or similar sites, so I hope Apogee/3D Realms is less likely to sue me or whatever.
Hail to the K1n9, baby!
http://k1n9duk3.shikadi.net

User avatar
Paramultart
VBB's Partner in Crime
Posts: 3003
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 8:36

Post by Paramultart » Mon Aug 12, 2013 13:52

K1n9_Duk3 wrote:I hope Apogee/3D Realms is less likely to sue me or whatever.
If they did, they would be betraying everything that ever made them great.
I remember how disappointed I was when they started ordering cease-and-desists on all the Duke fan games... I think they were seriously threatened someone would make a better game than DNF... which isn't hard to do.
"Father Mabeuf was surveying his plants"

User avatar
K1n9_Duk3
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 472
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 9:30
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by K1n9_Duk3 » Mon Aug 12, 2013 15:06

Paramultart wrote:I think they were seriously threatened someone would make a better game than DNF... which isn't hard to do.
Some say that's why Gearbox stopped Interceptor's Duke Nukem: Reloaded...
Hail to the K1n9, baby!
http://k1n9duk3.shikadi.net

User avatar
Nospike
Keen Minecrafter
Posts: 1308
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 13:56
Location: Carlsbad, Czech Republic

Post by Nospike » Mon Aug 12, 2013 15:27

Honestly I think Interceptor would have done a much better job. I mean, their Rise of the Triad reboot looks awesome, and though it's badly optimized and a bit buggy right now, they're still working on it.
It just might be done someday. The chance is always there.

User avatar
guynietoren
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 885
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 2:57
Location: Kansas City
Contact:

Post by guynietoren » Mon Aug 12, 2013 20:14

This recent article says Gearbox allows them to publish with a non-commercial license.
http://www.penny-arcade.com/report/arti ... -for-non-c

But yeah. There is a big mess of confusion there as to why the stopped production if Gearbox says it's perfectly fine.

User avatar
Levellass
S-Triazine
Posts: 5261
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 6:40

Post by Levellass » Tue Aug 13, 2013 4:49

It's standard gaming policy no, anything innovative and new must be squashed. bring on the next Gears of Halofare IV game!
What you really need, not what you think you ought to want.

User avatar
MoffD
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1167
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 17:30
Location: /dev/null
Contact:

Post by MoffD » Tue Aug 13, 2013 13:01

Levellass wrote:It's standard gaming policy no, anything innovative and new must be squashed. bring on the next Gears of Halofare IV game!
It was dark era, Earth had become ground zero for an interstellar war...
The Locust Horde had refused to join the Covenant so they must be crushed.

"Soap" MacTavish thought back to before the invaders had come, when there was still fighting between humans, but his reminiscing was cut short when he heard a locust drone nearby. He started to sneak up with his knife out but before he could get near a covenant Elite appeared holding a plasma sword and stabbed the drone through...

Sorry, My mind got derailed :D
mortimermcmirestinks wrote: Now I wish MoffD wasn't allergic to me.
Levellass wrote:You're an evil man.
Image

User avatar
Nospike
Keen Minecrafter
Posts: 1308
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 13:56
Location: Carlsbad, Czech Republic

Post by Nospike » Tue Aug 13, 2013 13:17

Don't even get me started on Modern Warfare 3 or how all Call of Duty endings are pure cliché.
It just might be done someday. The chance is always there.

User avatar
Roobar
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 2791
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 16:12

Post by Roobar » Tue Aug 13, 2013 14:31

Nospike wrote:Don't even get me started on Modern Warfare 3 or how all Call of Duty endings are pure cliché.
You even play these game? You're too mainstream :p .

User avatar
Nospike
Keen Minecrafter
Posts: 1308
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 13:56
Location: Carlsbad, Czech Republic

Post by Nospike » Tue Aug 13, 2013 15:09

Hell no, last CoD game I've played was Black Ops, even today I still regret buying it.
It just might be done someday. The chance is always there.

Post Reply