Commander Genius FAQ

All discussion about the Commander Genius project (a Keen interpreter + more).
pizza2004
Vortininja
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 1:22

Commander Genius FAQ

Post by pizza2004 » Mon Jun 14, 2010 1:38

I decided to create a FAQ topic for Commander Genius.

Feel free to ask us questions and we will answer, and if your question is good enough, we will include in our FAQ in the readme.

Q: When I change to opengl-mode, the screen turns white and I can't do anything! How do I change the mode back?
A: You can either delete "cgenius.cfg" or open it in a text editor and change it manually. Just put "opengl = 0" and it should change just that setting back.
The white screen means, that your graphics card doesn't support NPOT Textures. A video card with OpenGL 2.0 or later support should not have that problem.

Q: Commander Genius is slow! Please help!
A: OpenGL may help, but you must have a graphics card that supports NPOT-Textures. (OpenGL 2.0 or later).
Try to lower the resolution, choose a lower filter, or decrease some sound settings and see if that helps.

Q: When can I play Keen 4, 5 and 6 on CG?
A: We are currently working on supporting play of Keens 4-6. Keens 4-5 should be fully functional (although they won't be perfect) by the beginning of 2011. Keen 6 will be added a few months later.

Q: Is there an IRC Channel where I can talk to the dev team?
A: Yes, it's called #CommanderGenius on irc.foonetic.net.

User avatar
DaVince
lazy/busy Keener
Posts: 1475
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 15:34
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Commander Genius FAQ

Post by DaVince » Mon Jun 14, 2010 15:12

pizza2004 wrote:I decided to create a FAQ topic for Commander Genius.

Feel free to ask us questions and we will answer, and if your question is good enough, we will include in our FAQ in the readme.

Q: When I change to opengl-mode, the screen turns white and I can't do anything! How do I change the mode back?
A: You can either delete "cgenius.cfg" or open it in a text editor and change it manually. Just put "opengl = 0" and it should change just that setting back.
The white screen means, that your graphics card doesn't support NPOT Textures. A video card with OpenGL 2.0 or later support should not have that problem.
About this, can't you detect NPOT support, switch to software mode if it was not found, and warn the user about it?
Wow look at me I'm lurking

User avatar
DHeadshot
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1873
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 10:21
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by DHeadshot » Mon Jun 14, 2010 18:18

Q: When will you fix the GP2X-Wiz port of CKP to work on firmware 1.1 (which has been out for most of the life of the console and which most users have).

pizza2004
Vortininja
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 1:22

Re: Commander Genius FAQ

Post by pizza2004 » Mon Jun 14, 2010 23:04

DaVince wrote: About this, can't you detect NPOT support, switch to software mode if it was not found, and warn the user about it?
Good question, we might be able to, but I don't know how. If I could find out a way to check for OpenGL version, and just tell it to not do it for version 2.0, then I would.

gerstrong
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1143
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 14:44
Location: Frankfurt - Germany
Contact:

Post by gerstrong » Sun Jun 20, 2010 6:55

A little bit of research might help ;-) :

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/3046 ... power-of-2

User avatar
Roobar
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 2795
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 16:12

Post by Roobar » Sun Jun 20, 2010 7:49

You should add explanation for what is Clone Keen Keen Clone etc. I don't remember, but the project at first was named CloneKeen and then renamed to Commander Genius? In this FAQ you didn't even add a link to your project!

User avatar
tulip
Flower Pot
Posts: 2520
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 12:50
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Post by tulip » Sun Jun 20, 2010 10:04

Good point - I added the link in pizza's post, now you can click on CommanderGenius.

Yes it was called CloneKeenPlus before, and on sourceforge it still goes under that name, as you can see by the url.
Image You crack me up little buddy!

gerstrong
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1143
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 14:44
Location: Frankfurt - Germany
Contact:

Post by gerstrong » Sun Jun 27, 2010 14:57

Well, I think the next version will work a bit faster with OpenGL and now we have POT-Textures. So OpenGL 1.0 might be supported also. Stay tuned!

gerstrong
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1143
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 14:44
Location: Frankfurt - Germany
Contact:

Post by gerstrong » Sat Aug 21, 2010 11:30

What happened here? Pizza2004 had the idea of making a new Readme file this time in HTML format and collecting new FAQ here...

Let's see what we can make out of this. I might open another poll for it...
Having fun developing stuff...

User avatar
Rorie
Tru-Blu Aussie Born & Bred
Posts: 1072
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 22:27
Location: Australia

Post by Rorie » Sun Aug 22, 2010 2:15

i don't come here as much as i used to, but what is the commander genius and what does it or will it do?
For new AirBnB users
https://www.airbnb.com.au/c/roriem
You'll receive AUD$50 off your first booking and I'll receive AUD$25

gerstrong
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1143
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 14:44
Location: Frankfurt - Germany
Contact:

Post by gerstrong » Sun Aug 22, 2010 6:31

hey Rorie,

Commander Genius interprets your Keen Games without the need of dosbox which means it let's you play them much smoother, with better graphics at some part and other special features the original games never had.

It's like eDuke32 but for Keen

Just check out the videos from the Site:

http://clonekeenplus.sourceforge.net/
Having fun developing stuff...

User avatar
Rorie
Tru-Blu Aussie Born & Bred
Posts: 1072
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 22:27
Location: Australia

Post by Rorie » Sun Aug 22, 2010 7:49

gerstrong wrote:hey Rorie,

Commander Genius interprets your Keen Games without the need of dosbox which means it let's you play them much smoother, with better graphics at some part and other special features the original games never had.

It's like eDuke32 but for Keen

Just check out the videos from the Site:

http://clonekeenplus.sourceforge.net/
cool!. is it done yet?. is it free? where can i download it?
For new AirBnB users
https://www.airbnb.com.au/c/roriem
You'll receive AUD$50 off your first booking and I'll receive AUD$25

gerstrong
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1143
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 14:44
Location: Frankfurt - Germany
Contact:

Post by gerstrong » Sun Aug 22, 2010 8:22

Hey, I just gave you the link and yes it is done for Episode 1-3. The other other Episodes are in progress.
Having fun developing stuff...

User avatar
Bubzrulz
Vortininja
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 13:21

Keen 2 3 5 6

Post by Bubzrulz » Sun Dec 25, 2016 1:10

How do i add keen 2 3 5 6 to it i got them on my laptop would love to play them on my tab i tryed my adding to data file didnt work

gerstrong
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1143
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 14:44
Location: Frankfurt - Germany
Contact:

Re: Keen 2 3 5 6

Post by gerstrong » Tue Dec 27, 2016 8:11

Bubzrulz wrote:How do i add keen 2 3 5 6 to it i got them on my laptop would love to play them on my tab i tryed my adding to data file didnt work
Have you taken a look at the readme, there it is explained.

Also take a look at these howtos:

http://clonekeenplus.sourceforge.net/howto/
Having fun developing stuff...

Post Reply