Commander Genius 1.7

All discussion about the Commander Genius project (a Keen interpreter + more).
gerstrong
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1220
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 14:44
Location: Frankfurt - Germany
Contact:

Commander Genius 1.7

Post by gerstrong »

It won't be that version number, but here a sneak preview of what you will see in the next version:

Image

Clicking on game will show a preview. This is only seen if you ran it once. That's is when the game is open and takes a chance to get the snapshot. You can change it, but it is automatically generated if missing...

It's not that much, but the other goodies you will see very soon. CG will be much more solid with GsKit now integrated.

See you soon!
Last edited by gerstrong on Sun Mar 30, 2014 18:42, edited 1 time in total.
Having fun developing stuff...

User avatar
szemi
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1645
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 15:19
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Post by szemi »

Could it support Keen 10: Mirror Menace (full version of course!) ?
Yeah, piece of cake!

Keening_Product
Kuliwho?
Posts: 2142
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 7:02
Location: Tied up in the Oracle Chamber's basement
Contact:

Post by Keening_Product »

This is neat.
Keening_Product was defeated before the game.

"Wise words. One day I may even understand what they mean." - Levellass

gerstrong
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1220
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 14:44
Location: Frankfurt - Germany
Contact:

Post by gerstrong »

I have widen the mod support. If that mod doesnt have too many ugly patches it might. Going to check this right now.
Having fun developing stuff...

gerstrong
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1220
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 14:44
Location: Frankfurt - Germany
Contact:

Post by gerstrong »

Well, intro works so far...
Having fun developing stuff...

gerstrong
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1220
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 14:44
Location: Frankfurt - Germany
Contact:

Post by gerstrong »

Hell ya, it runs pretty well...

Look:

I'm playing in 640x400 game resolution mode:

Image

Image

Image

There seem to be some glitches with the enemies, which I will try to fix, but other than that it looks okay.

I won't have time to test it further, but it would be nice to have someone who wants to check out what does not work well yet by critical aspects and we will make that 100% compatible. I'm pretty sure that not much is missing to get it to that point.

I also will write some critics about that game in the other thread we have here.

Testers, I need you now :-)
Having fun developing stuff...

User avatar
szemi
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1645
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 15:19
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Post by szemi »

Nice job, but I think the full version (not the initial) of Keen 10 would be better as that's "more interesting". :D
Yeah, piece of cake!

gerstrong
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1220
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 14:44
Location: Frankfurt - Germany
Contact:

Post by gerstrong »

Well I tried to download it and got one, pretty strange...

I must have done something wrong
Having fun developing stuff...

User avatar
szemi
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1645
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 15:19
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Post by szemi »

Yeah, piece of cake!

gerstrong
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1220
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 14:44
Location: Frankfurt - Germany
Contact:

Post by gerstrong »

CG crashes when running that version, checking out why, maybe I can fix it.
Having fun developing stuff...

gerstrong
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1220
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 14:44
Location: Frankfurt - Germany
Contact:

Post by gerstrong »

I think huffman internal dict gets broken through that patch.

As there is no data to decompress anyway I do that detection and pass the data.

The final version of your mods now runs pretty well... :-)
Having fun developing stuff...

gerstrong
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1220
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 14:44
Location: Frankfurt - Germany
Contact:

Post by gerstrong »

Thanks to MoffD for reporting a mayor bug. Multiplayer mode under water is now possible

Image

Upcoming will bring that fix
Having fun developing stuff...

gerstrong
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1220
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 14:44
Location: Frankfurt - Germany
Contact:

Post by gerstrong »

Well, here it goes. First public version with GsKit included:

This a beta and I'm not sure if V1.7 will receive a release. We'll see:

http://sourceforge.net/projects/cloneke ... nius/V1.7/

Everything here is compiled using SDL2. You can compile it for SDL 1.2 though

Have fun!
Having fun developing stuff...

gerstrong
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1220
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 14:44
Location: Frankfurt - Germany
Contact:

Post by gerstrong »

I released that version, go and get it!
Having fun developing stuff...

User avatar
Roobar
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 3080
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 16:12
Contact:

Post by Roobar »

My experience from my first try:
1. Running the TFOS mod!
2. A black menu with only green letters welcomed me.
3. Full screen doesn't work for me (win 8.1). It only resizes. Changed resolution to full hd.
4. Redefine all keys. Wished both the arrow keys and the numeric pad keys to work as well as the enter key and the numeric pad enter key, instead of those that only you redefine.
5. World map loads, entering level = black screen. Game crashes.

Second try.
1. Dealing with resolutions. Now somehow the wristwach is back. The full screen still doesn't work.
2. Exploring some options that I don't know what they are changing.
3. Starting the game. I don't know why I have to press a key after I enter a level.
4. Wow the hi-res viewable area works!
5. There's something strange in the animation where keen is garbing ledge.
6. The gameplay somehow feels very different from the original. A bit faster maybe.
7. Sometimes when I press pogo and jump, the pogo is not activated.
8. When I die, I have to press the Enter key, even though I have assigned the numeric pad enter.
9. This might be a mod bug, but it says "You didn't make it past D Try Again Exit to Shadowlands".
10. In the second level, "Chemistry labs" there are some platforms, which if keen steps on them, they move down. They are ok, but a lot of the times, while you're on them and you're moving in one direction, when you press the jump button, Keen doesn't jump (or start to jump too late, like the controls feels unresponsive).
11. The upper edge is not visible.
12. There's something wrong with some tiles at the right edge of the Space Station level.
13. There are some wrong tiles in the Hill level, when you open the yellow door.

Post Reply