Black Screen on Startup?

All discussion about the Commander Genius project (a Keen interpreter + more).
Post Reply
Terrapin2190
Grunt
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2016 20:42

Black Screen on Startup?

Post by Terrapin2190 » Wed Jul 13, 2016 20:54

Hey Keen Fans!

I'm not sure if this has been discussed before. I did a quick browse through the first page and didn't see anything related.

I've been using Commander Genius v1.8.3 and have encountered a black screen upon startup of the application. Not getting to the game selection screen even. Sometimes it will exit when I press 'Enter,' other times I will have to press Alt+F4.

Last I remember, I was playing Keen 4 and I had modified the resolution settings. I used 320x200 as the game's display area and 1360x768 as the actual display resolution. Now, my monitor's native res is 1366x768.

Other miscellaneous options I changed were control configuration (with an Aftershock AP.1 PS3 controller) and there were a few others I changed that were unrelated to display.


EDIT: I've also 'installed' (via .zip extraction method) CG v1.9.5 (had to manually install libcurl.dll, libeay32.dll, and ssleay32.dll) into a separate folder and still encountered the error. From there, I searched through regedit for anything related (and readable with my personal tech knowledge) to CG, but haven't found anything that will fix it yet.

Now that I think about it, I'll take a look in %appdata%. (END EDIT)



Any help would be greatly appreciated! I'd love to get back to making my way through Keen 4-9 :)

I got lucky and bought the 3D Realms Anthology through 3D Realms for $10 before all their wonky copyright issues came to a head.
(I love bragging about it, but no one else seems to realize how great Apogee and 3D Realms were and still are! Figured someone here might appreciate the shoutout haha)

Terrapin2190
Grunt
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2016 20:42

Post by Terrapin2190 » Thu Jul 14, 2016 0:37

Just to clarify, I am using Windows 7 x64.

This happens when trying to use another version as well. (Extracted into a separate folder)

Also, I'm not seeing the cgenius.cfg file anywhere.

User avatar
Nospike
Keen Minecrafter
Posts: 1308
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 13:56
Location: Carlsbad, Czech Republic

Post by Nospike » Thu Jul 14, 2016 5:28

I had the same problem at one point. It's the config file. I can't remember where to find it though... it was probably appdata, but someone else will have to fill that bit in.
It just might be done someday. The chance is always there.

gerstrong
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1075
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 14:44
Location: Frankfurt - Germany
Contact:

Post by gerstrong » Thu Jul 14, 2016 15:25

Nospike wrote:I had the same problem at one point. It's the config file. I can't remember where to find it though... it was probably appdata, but someone else will have to fill that bit in.
On a Windows System you normally find the cgenius.cfg under "Documents\Commander Genius" with all the other stuff. It is possible that it still needs to be created though.

I just updated to Beta 1.9.5.3. It should be better now. Let know if you still encounter problems
Having fun developing stuff...

Terrapin2190
Grunt
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2016 20:42

Post by Terrapin2190 » Fri Jul 15, 2016 8:59

gerstrong wrote:
Nospike wrote:I had the same problem at one point. It's the config file. I can't remember where to find it though... it was probably appdata, but someone else will have to fill that bit in.
On a Windows System you normally find the cgenius.cfg under "Documents\Commander Genius" with all the other stuff. It is possible that it still needs to be created though.

I just updated to Beta 1.9.5.3. It should be better now. Let know if you still encounter problems
...Okay! I seem to have reproduced the error.

I found the cgenius.cfg file in My Documents (the one place I didn't think of to look). Moved that to the desktop and that seemed to solve the problem, or at least revert to default settings, allowing me to run the program.

From there, I decided to extract CG v1.9.5.1 to a working directory. Downloaded and extracted libcurl.dll, libeay32.dll, and ssleay32.dll. Extracted HQPv26 to CG's directory. Opened Commander Genius and loaded Keen4. Played a bit, loaded my previous saved game (that worked!)

From there, I changed video options like I had before. I left the game's screen resolution at 320x200. Changed Filter to scale4x. Changed Screen Resolution to 1366x768. Resumed my game for a bit and all seemed well.

Upon exiting and re-opening Commander Genius, I was greeted with a black screen again.

Now, I do have integrated graphics that are quite old and quite limited. My native resolution is 1366x768 via GPU and monitor. Not sure if my old Nvidia Geforce 6150SE nForce 430 would have something to do with it...

I also have renamed my Keen folders in the 'games' directory! Instead of using 'Keen1, Keen2, Keen3, etc' I have them as 'Keen1 Marooned on Mars, Keen2 The Earth Explodes, etc etc' and have the gfx folders within said renamed folders.

gerstrong
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1075
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 14:44
Location: Frankfurt - Germany
Contact:

Post by gerstrong » Sat Jul 16, 2016 4:43

Terrapin2190 wrote:
gerstrong wrote:
Nospike wrote:I had the same problem at one point. It's the config file. I can't remember where to find it though... it was probably appdata, but someone else will have to fill that bit in.
On a Windows System you normally find the cgenius.cfg under "Documents\Commander Genius" with all the other stuff. It is possible that it still needs to be created though.

I just updated to Beta 1.9.5.3. It should be better now. Let know if you still encounter problems
...Okay! I seem to have reproduced the error.

I found the cgenius.cfg file in My Documents (the one place I didn't think of to look). Moved that to the desktop and that seemed to solve the problem, or at least revert to default settings, allowing me to run the program.

From there, I decided to extract CG v1.9.5.1 to a working directory. Downloaded and extracted libcurl.dll, libeay32.dll, and ssleay32.dll. Extracted HQPv26 to CG's directory. Opened Commander Genius and loaded Keen4. Played a bit, loaded my previous saved game (that worked!)

From there, I changed video options like I had before. I left the game's screen resolution at 320x200. Changed Filter to scale4x. Changed Screen Resolution to 1366x768. Resumed my game for a bit and all seemed well.

Upon exiting and re-opening Commander Genius, I was greeted with a black screen again.

Now, I do have integrated graphics that are quite old and quite limited. My native resolution is 1366x768 via GPU and monitor. Not sure if my old Nvidia Geforce 6150SE nForce 430 would have something to do with it...

I also have renamed my Keen folders in the 'games' directory! Instead of using 'Keen1, Keen2, Keen3, etc' I have them as 'Keen1 Marooned on Mars, Keen2 The Earth Explodes, etc etc' and have the gfx folders within said renamed folders.
Did you try changing between OpenGL switch enabled and disabled. That can sometimes help.

Also try to send me the cgenius.cfg and cglog.html files.
Having fun developing stuff...

Terrapin2190
Grunt
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2016 20:42

Post by Terrapin2190 » Mon Jul 18, 2016 19:06

Okay, I tried changing the OpenGL string to false and still received the black screen on startup. I haven't tinkered with much else since our last convo.

Here are the infos you requested.

cgenius.cfg

Code: Select all

[Audio]
channels = 2
format = 32784
musicvol = 16
rate = 44100
sndblaster = true
soundvol = 16

[Bound]
down = 130
left = 140
right = 180
speed = 5
up = 50

[FileHandling]
SearchPath1 = ${HOME}/Commander Genius
SearchPath2 = .
SearchPath3 = ${BIN}

[Game]
flashfx = false
hud = false
keystack = false
level_replayability = false
modern_style = false
pking = false
rise_bonus = false
showfps = false

[Video]
OGLfilter = nearest
OpenGL = true
aspect = 16:9
filter = 4
fps = 60
fullscreen = true
gameHeight = 200
gameWidth = 320
height = 768
scale = 1
scaletype = scalex
specialfx = true
vsync = true
width = 1366

[input0]
Analog = false
Back = Joy0-B8
Camlead = Joy0-B7
Down = Joy0-H4
Fire = Joy0-B2
Help = Joy0-B6
Jump = Joy0-B1
Left = Joy0-H8
Lower-Left = Key 1073741901 (End)
Lower-Right = Key 1073741902 (PageDown)
Pogo = Joy0-B0
Right = Joy0-H2
Status = Joy0-B3
TwoButtonFiring = false
Up = Joy0-H1
Upper-Left = Key 1073741898 (Home)
Upper-Right = Key 1073741899 (PageUp)

[input1]
Analog = false
Back = Key 27 (Escape)
Camlead = Key 99 (C)
Down = Key 1073741905 (Down)
Fire = Key 32 (Space)
Help = Key 1073741882 (F1)
Jump = Key 1073742048 (Left Ctrl)
Left = Key 1073741904 (Left)
Lower-Left = Key 1073741901 (End)
Lower-Right = Key 1073741902 (PageDown)
Pogo = Key 1073742050 (Left Alt)
Right = Key 1073741903 (Right)
Status = Key 13 (Return)
TwoButtonFiring = false
Up = Key 1073741906 (Up)
Upper-Left = Key 1073741898 (Home)
Upper-Right = Key 1073741899 (PageUp)

[input2]
Analog = false
Back = Key 27 (Escape)
Camlead = Key 99 (C)
Down = Key 1073741905 (Down)
Fire = Key 32 (Space)
Help = Key 1073741882 (F1)
Jump = Key 1073742048 (Left Ctrl)
Left = Key 1073741904 (Left)
Lower-Left = Key 1073741901 (End)
Lower-Right = Key 1073741902 (PageDown)
Pogo = Key 1073742050 (Left Alt)
Right = Key 1073741903 (Right)
Status = Key 13 (Return)
TwoButtonFiring = false
Up = Key 1073741906 (Up)
Upper-Left = Key 1073741898 (Home)
Upper-Right = Key 1073741899 (PageUp)

[input3]
Analog = false
Back = Key 27 (Escape)
Camlead = Key 99 (C)
Down = Key 1073741905 (Down)
Fire = Key 32 (Space)
Help = Key 1073741882 (F1)
Jump = Key 1073742048 (Left Ctrl)
Left = Key 1073741904 (Left)
Lower-Left = Key 1073741901 (End)
Lower-Right = Key 1073741902 (PageDown)
Pogo = Key 1073742050 (Left Alt)
Right = Key 1073741903 (Right)
Status = Key 13 (Return)
TwoButtonFiring = false
Up = Key 1073741906 (Up)
Upper-Left = Key 1073741898 (Home)
Upper-Right = Key 1073741899 (PageUp)



CGLog.html

Code: Select all

<html><head><title>LogFile</title></head><body><font face='courier new'><table cellspacing='0' cellpadding='0' width='100%%' bgcolor='#DFDFE5'>
<tr>
<tr>
<td>
<font face='arial' size='+3'>
Logfile</font>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
<br><font color=blue>Commander Genius v1.9.5.1-Beta</font><br>BUILD: RELEASE<br>PLATFORM: Windows<br>Compiled against SDL version 2.0.4 ...and linked against SDL version 2.0.3.<br>Build date: Jun 23 2016by The Commander Genius Team 2016<br>BY FANS, FOR FANS. ALL "COMMANDER KEEN" GRAPHICS,<br>SOUND, AND LEVEL FILES ARE THE PROPERTY OF ID SOFTWARE<br>EXCEPT THOSE WHICH WERE MADE BY FANS FOR EXTENSION.<br><br><a href='mailto:gerstrong@gmail.com?subject=CG Logfile'>Send E-Mail to me</a><br><br><font color=green>SDL was successfully initialized!<br></font><br><font color=red>IMG_Init: Failed to init required jpg and png support!
</font><br><li><font color=red>Failed loading libjpeg-9.dll: The specified module could not be found.

</font></li><li><font color=red>Failed loading libjpeg-9.dll: The specified module could not be found.

</font></li><li><font color=green>Starting timer driver...
</font></li><font color=green>Loading game options...
</font><br><br>Your personal settings were loaded successfully...<br>Starting the sound driver...<br>SDL_AudioSpec:<br>  freq: 44100<br>  channels: 2<br>  audio buffer size: 4096<br>  format: AUDIO_S16<br>Using audio driver: xaudio2<br>Sound System: SDL sound system initialized.<br><font color=green>Loading hardware settings...<br></font><br>Starting graphics driver...<br>will be using SDL Video<br>Blitsurface creation of 320x200!
<br>ScrollSurface creation of 512x512!
<br>ScreenSurface creation of 320x200!
<br>Blitsurface creation of 1366x768!
<br>ScrollSurface creation of 2048x2048!
<br>ScreenSurface creation of 1366x768!
<br>Running Thread: Loading ResourcesGame Autodetection Started<br>Search: .<br>Search: games/Keen1 Marooned on Mars<br>EXE processed with size of 100484 and crc of 586BE7FA
Detected game Name: games/Keen1 Marooned on Mars/keen1.exe Version: v1.31<br>   Using for in-game menu resources<br>Search: games/Keen1 Marooned on Mars/gfx<br>Search: games/Keen2 The Earth Explodes<br>EXE processed with size of 118672 and crc of BAFF21E8
Detected game Name: games/Keen2 The Earth Explodes/keen2.exe Version: v1.31<br>Search: games/Keen2 The Earth Explodes/gfx<br>Starting the input driver...<br>JoyDrv_Start() : Search: games/Keen3 Keen Must Die<br>EXE processed with size of 127598 and crc of A223C25A
Detected game Name: games/Keen3 Keen Must Die/keen3.exe Version: v1.0<br>Search: games/Keen3 Keen Must Die/gfx<br>Search: games/Keen3.5 Keen Dreams<br>EXE processed with size of 213536 and crc of 8981185D
Detected game Name: games/Keen3.5 Keen Dreams/kdreams.exe Version: v1.0<br>Search: games/Keen4 Secret of the Oracle<br>EXE processed with size of 263488 and crc of DD8DB331
Detected game Name: games/Keen4 Secret of the Oracle/keen4e.exe Version: v1.40<br>Search: games/Keen4 Secret of the Oracle/gfx<br>Search: games/Keen4 Secret of the Oracle/music<br>Search: games/Keen5 The Armageddon Machine<br>EXE processed with size of 266096 and crc of 4BEAD24D
Detected game Name: games/Keen5 The Armageddon Machine/keen5e.exe Version: v1.40<br>Search: games/Keen5 The Armageddon Machine/music<br>Search: games/Keen6 Aliens Ate My Babysitter<br>EXE processed with size of 271696 and crc of A9A2B5CD
Detected game Name: games/Keen6 Aliens Ate My Babysitter/keen6.exe Version: v1.40<br>Search: games/Keen6 Aliens Ate My Babysitter/music<br>Search: games/Keen7 The Keys of Krodacia<br>EXE processed with size of 263488 and crc of DD8DB331
Detected game Name: games/Keen7 The Keys of Krodacia/keen4e.exe Version: v1.40<br>Search: games/Keen8 Dead in the Desert<br>EXE processed with size of 271696 and crc of A9A2B5CD
Detected game Name: games/Keen8 Dead in the Desert/keen6.exe Version: v1.40<br>Search: games/Keen9 The Battle of the Brains<br>EXE processed with size of 266096 and crc of 4BEAD24D
Detected game Name: games/Keen9 The Battle of the Brains/keen5e.exe Version: v1.40<br>Search: games/KeenDreams Plus<br>EXE processed with size of 213536 and crc of 8981185D
Detected game Name: games/KeenDreams Plus/kdreams.exe Version: v1.0<br>Search: games/Mod Aliens<br>Search: games/Mod BioMenace Crisis Earth<br>Search: games/Mod Crash<br>EXE processed with size of 100484 and crc of 586BE7FA
Detected game Name: games/Mod Crash/keen1.exe Version: v1.31<br>Search: games/Mod Dangerous Dave<br>EXE processed with size of 100484 and crc of 586BE7FA
Detected game Name: games/Mod Dangerous Dave/keen1.exe Version: v1.31<br>Search: games/Mod EightAcummulators<br>EXE processed with size of 263488 and crc of DD8DB331
Detected game Name: games/Mod EightAcummulators/keen4e.exe Version: v1.40<br>Search: games/Mod Episode 0<br>Search: games/Mod Episode X<br>EXE processed with size of 100484 and crc of 586BE7FA
Detected game Name: games/Mod Episode X/keen1.exe Version: v1.31<br>Search: games/Mod Grand Intelligence<br>EXE processed with size of 213536 and crc of 8981185D
Detected game Name: games/Mod Grand Intelligence/kdreams.exe Version: v1.0<br>Search: games/Mod Patchwork<br>EXE processed with size of 100484 and crc of 586BE7FA
Detected game Name: games/Mod Patchwork/keen1.exe Version: v1.31<br>Search: games/Mod Perilous<br>EXE processed with size of 100484 and crc of 586BE7FA
Detected game Name: games/Mod Perilous/keen1.exe Version: v1.31<br>Detected 1 joystick(s).<br>
The names of the joysticks are:<br>    Ps3 Gamepad<br>Search: games/Mod Zelda II<br>EXE processed with size of 100484 and crc of 586BE7FA
Detected game Name: games/Mod Zelda II/keen1.exe Version: v1.31<br><font color=green>Looking for games/Keen3.5 Keen Dreams/preview.bmp ... found!
</font><br><font color=green>Looking for games/Keen4 Secret of the Oracle/preview.bmp ... found!
</font><br><font color=green>Looking for games/Keen7 The Keys of Krodacia/preview.bmp ... found!
</font><br><font color=green>Looking for games/KeenDreams Plus/preview.bmp ... found!
</font><br>Game Autodetection Finished<br>Loading Resources [finished]     Axes: 4<br>     Buttons: 13 <br>     Balls: 0 <br>     Hats: 1<br>User exit request!<br><br>End of logfile</font></body></html>


If you'd like to download them for easy access, here are the links:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/hnkp4 ... CGLog.html
http://www.mediafire.com/download/4hrx2 ... genius.cfg[/code]

Terrapin2190
Grunt
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2016 20:42

Post by Terrapin2190 » Mon Jul 18, 2016 22:08

Now, I deleted the cgenius.cfg and tried using different settings.

I left 'Aspect Ratio' alone this time. (Set at 4:3)
I changed 'Screen Resolution' to 1024x768.
'Filter' to scale4x
And I did not get a black screen on startup.



Previously, when I had set 'Screen Resolution' to 1366x768, I had to set 'Aspect Ratio' to 16:9.

gerstrong
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1075
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 14:44
Location: Frankfurt - Germany
Contact:

Post by gerstrong » Sun Jul 24, 2016 15:56

Terrapin2190 wrote:Now, I deleted the cgenius.cfg and tried using different settings.

I left 'Aspect Ratio' alone this time. (Set at 4:3)
I changed 'Screen Resolution' to 1024x768.
'Filter' to scale4x
And I did not get a black screen on startup.



Previously, when I had set 'Screen Resolution' to 1366x768, I had to set 'Aspect Ratio' to 16:9.
Yeah, I still need to test that. After tidying up some dreams code I will take another look...
Having fun developing stuff...

Post Reply