Commander Keen positioning bug

All discussion about the Commander Genius project (a Keen interpreter + more).
Post Reply
Oet
Meep
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2019 22:36

Commander Keen positioning bug

Post by Oet » Sat Aug 24, 2019 22:46

Hi Gerstrong,

Something weird is happening on recent GNU/Linux distro's.

After building CG, Keen seems to stick to a corner (or side) of the screen:
Keen 1: https://vimeo.com/355760518
Keen 4: https://vimeo.com/355760603

Both an old 2.2.3 and the newest master show this behaviour.

This occurs on totally different systems/cpu's:
- Arch Linux 64-bit on a desktop with AMD cpu
- Armbian on a Pinebook A64 with ARM cpu

What is going on? :gimp

gerstrong
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1158
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 14:44
Location: Frankfurt - Germany
Contact:

Re: Commander Keen positioning bug

Post by gerstrong » Thu Sep 05, 2019 15:26

This is indeed interesting. I cannot reproduce with the information you are giving me, but maybe you can tell me what revision did

Code: Select all

git branch -v # is your friend
you use and please also send me your cgenius.cfg.

I think it is related to some signed to unsigned integer conversion related to the camera settings. But I cannot say for sure.
Having fun developing stuff...

Oet
Meep
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2019 22:36

Re: Commander Keen positioning bug

Post by Oet » Fri Sep 20, 2019 22:42

Now trying with the master, but older CG versions also show this behavior on both my GNU/Linux computers.

Code: Select all

git branch -v
* master 6d6a009e8 Version update
The config on my desktop (laptop has lower with and height, but same issue):

Code: Select all

[Audio]
channels = 2
format = 32784
musicvol = 128
rate = 44100
sndblaster = false
soundvol = 128

[Bound]
down = 0
left = 0
right = 0
speed = 0
up = 0

[FileHandling]
SearchPath1 = ${HOME}/.CommanderGenius
SearchPath2 = .
SearchPath3 = /usr/share/commandergenius

[Video]
OGLfilter = linear
OpenGL = true
ShowCursor = true
TiltedScreen = false
VirtPad = false
VirtPadSize = 100
aspect = 4:3
filter = 0
fps = 60
fullscreen = true
gameHeight = 200
gameWidth = 320
height = 2160
scale = 0
scaletype = scalex
vsync = false
width = 3840
During the cmake, I noticed an empty CG_VERSION and SDL2IMAGE_LIBRARY despite having installed sdl2_image:

Code: Select all

-- Using shared SDL Version 2 for GsKit
-- Using shared SDL Version 2 for GsKit
-- Python3_LIBRARIES = /usr/lib/libpython3.7m.so
-- Python3_INCLUDE_DIRS = /usr/include/python3.7m
-- SDLIMAGE INCLUDE DIR /usr/include/SDL2
-- SDLIMAGE_LIBRARY /usr/lib/libSDL2_image.so
-- Using shared SDL Version 2 for GsKit
-- cotire 1.8.0 loaded.
-- Preparing the Build-System for Commander Genius
-- Setting SYSTEM_DATA_DIR to /usr/local/
-- Python3_LIBRARIES = /usr/lib/libpython3.7m.so
-- Python3_INCLUDE_DIRS = /usr/include/python3.7m
-- SDLIMAGE INCLUDE DIR /usr/include/SDL2
-- SDLIMAGE_LIBRARY /usr/lib/libSDL2_image.so
-- Using shared SDL Version 2 for Commander Genius
-- Found SDL2_mixer: /usr/lib/libSDL2_mixer.so (found version "2.0.4") 
-- Internal Downloader: ON
-- CXX target engine_keen_galaxy cotired.
-- Found PkgConfig: /usr/bin/pkg-config (found version "1.6.3") 
CMake Warning (dev) in src/engine/unzip/CMakeLists.txt:
  A logical block opening on the line

    /home/joeri/Commander-Genius/src/engine/unzip/CMakeLists.txt:3 (if)

  closes on the line

    /home/joeri/Commander-Genius/src/engine/unzip/CMakeLists.txt:7 (endif)

  with mis-matching arguments.
This warning is for project developers.  Use -Wno-dev to suppress it.

-- Checking for module 'minizip'
--   Package 'minizip', required by 'virtual:world', not found
-- Found ZLIB: /usr/lib/libz.so (found version "1.2.11") 
-- Found CURL: /usr/lib/libcurl.so (found version "7.66.0")  
-- SDL2_LIBRARY = /usr/lib/libSDL2main.a;/usr/lib/libSDL2.so;-lpthread
-- SDL2IMAGE_LIBRARY = 
-- CXX target CGeniusExe cotired.
-- CG_VERSION = 
-- CPACK_PACKAGE_VERSION = 0.1.1
-- Build system is prepared. To Build the project just type "make"
-- If you want to create the installation package just type "make package" after you build the project
-- Configuring done
-- Generating done
-- Build files have been written to: /home/oet/cg

Post Reply