Dingoo built - Commander Genius for RG350 v1.8.3

All discussion about the Commander Genius project (a Keen interpreter + more).
Post Reply
goldmojo
Meep
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 19:36

Dingoo built - Commander Genius for RG350 v1.8.3

Post by goldmojo »

There is no recent built of Commander Genius for RG350 (last one on website is legacy version 0.3.2.6).

I built the version 1.8.3 which is the last no beta 1.x version released.
=> I can't compile versions 2.x because gcc 4.9 is not fully c++14 compatible ...

If interested, you can get it here : https://github.com/goldmojo/Commander-Genius/releases

Game data must be installed in HOME directory in folder .CommanderGenius/games
For ex => .CommanderGenius/games/keen1, .CommanderGenius/games/keen2, etc.

gerstrong
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1216
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 14:44
Location: Frankfurt - Germany
Contact:

Re: Dingoo built - Commander Genius for RG350 v1.8.3

Post by gerstrong »

Oh boy, 4.9

Isn't is possible to update the toolchain? I think with version 5 or 6 you should be able to build any recent version. CG 1.8.3 is quite old.

Thanks for the build. I can publish it on the website if you wish.

Cool thing to see CG running on Dingo devices. :-)
Having fun developing stuff...

goldmojo
Meep
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 19:36

Re: Dingoo built - Commander Genius for RG350 v1.8.3

Post by goldmojo »

Thank you for your reply and support.

You can publish the release in CG 1.x section if you wish.
I will try to update the toolchain to a more modern version of gcc, I think that someone already compiled 6.x gcc version.

If I achieve to compile the last 2.x version, I will let you know and send a pull request with some DINGOO modification proposal.

Thank you for your work and this amazing game !
Last edited by goldmojo on Sat Jul 11, 2020 15:07, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
DoomJedi
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 777
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:22
Location: Israel

Re: Dingoo built - Commander Genius for RG350 v1.8.3

Post by DoomJedi »

Now there is a version that works on my RG300 and that series of devices.
Too bad that galaxy ones require ega version only.

gerstrong
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1216
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 14:44
Location: Frankfurt - Germany
Contact:

Re: Dingoo built - Commander Genius for RG350 v1.8.3

Post by gerstrong »

Why is ega only a problem or do you prefer the cga version?
Having fun developing stuff...

User avatar
DoomJedi
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 777
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:22
Location: Israel

Re: Dingoo built - Commander Genius for RG350 v1.8.3

Post by DoomJedi »

Well, maybe this whole EGA/CGA/VGA is confusing for me.
Bottom line is - my Galaxy Keens/Keen6 don't run with those CG ports.

Post Reply