[Update] Hocus Pocus Level editor v1.2

Discuss classic and favorite computer or console games here.
User avatar
Roobar
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 3202
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 16:12
Contact:

Post by Roobar »

OK I've done that and it shows me this:

Image
Hisymak
Vortininja
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 20:13

Post by Hisymak »

That's perfectly okay. Let the program close and launch Hocus Pocus.
User avatar
Roobar
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 3202
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 16:12
Contact:

Post by Roobar »

Alright. Thanks.

Coming to think of, isn't it strange that after more than 20 years from the release of Doom and Hocus Pocus, we now play Hocus Pocus Doom mod and Doom Hocus Pokus mod? Who would have thought of this back then? Crazy...

And as for the modding. I like how well documented you are making everything, and I'm tempted to make something, but dealing with palettes is a nightmare for me. I've tried dealing with palettes in the past and I don't want to deal with that again (that's also the reason why I'm not making tiles or modding for Jazz Jackrabbit 2 for example). Some people here are into such limitations, but not me. Sorry. So that's that.
User avatar
Roobar
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 3202
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 16:12
Contact:

Re: [Update] Hocus Pocus Level editor v1.2

Post by Roobar »

I don't know from how long Hocus Pocus Beta is out, but just reporting that the editor opens the levels there as well:

Image

There are some interesting changes.

You can download the Hocus Pocus beta from here: https://archive.org/details/HocusPocusBeta
You can download v1.2 of the editor from here: https://moddingwiki.shikadi.net/wiki/HocusEditor
User avatar
Frenkel
Grunt
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2022 11:25

Re: [Update] Hocus Pocus Level editor v1.2

Post by Frenkel »

Roobar wrote: Mon Jan 09, 2023 18:53 I don't know from how long Hocus Pocus Beta is out
At least since 2004 on Lon Matero's Secret Beta Page.
Hisymak
Vortininja
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 20:13

Re: [Update] Hocus Pocus Level editor v1.2

Post by Hisymak »

Roobar wrote: Mon Jan 09, 2023 18:53 I don't know from how long Hocus Pocus Beta is out, but just reporting that the editor opens the levels there as well:
Yes, I explicitly added support for the beta version, as some other person (I don't remember who) gave it to me and I was happy to finally have it. It has some flaws which were fortunately mitigated in the final release version.
The editor is, however, still missing support for full version 1.0. I only had version 1.1 and did not know where to get 1.0 from. Hopefully this is not a big deal, as almost everyone is probably using 1.1 version anyway.
User avatar
Roobar
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 3202
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 16:12
Contact:

Re: [Update] Hocus Pocus Level editor v1.2

Post by Roobar »

do you know what these errors mean:

Image
Hisymak
Vortininja
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 20:13

Re: [Update] Hocus Pocus Level editor v1.2

Post by Hisymak »

This means he is trying to use editor on unsupported game version.
As I said, the full 1.0 version is not supported, because I did not have it on hand when developing the editor. Not sure which version he is actually having, whether it's 1.0 full, or some yet other version, which is not known.
User avatar
Roobar
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 3202
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 16:12
Contact:

Re: [Update] Hocus Pocus Level editor v1.2

Post by Roobar »

Trying the beta
Hisymak
Vortininja
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 20:13

Re: [Update] Hocus Pocus Level editor v1.2

Post by Hisymak »

Roobar wrote: Wed Jan 11, 2023 7:52Trying the beta
Then please check two things:
1. Whether there's a file called "beta.ini" inside the "Config" folder which is shipped with the editor, and whether there's a line starting "beta" in "versions.ini" file
2. Whether the hocus.exe file of the beta version he is using has exactly the same size as yours (the size that is mentioned inside versions.ini file, 218096 bytes)
User avatar
Roobar
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 3202
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 16:12
Contact:

Re: [Update] Hocus Pocus Level editor v1.2

Post by Roobar »

So turns out he was missing the config folder. Thanks for the support! 😀
User avatar
DoomJedi
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 869
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:22
Location: Israel

Re: [Update] Hocus Pocus Level editor v1.2

Post by DoomJedi »

Hope people are aware of the wonderful "Hocus Pocus" Doom mod.
Editable as well :)
Hisymak
Vortininja
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 20:13

Re: [Update] Hocus Pocus Level editor v1.2

Post by Hisymak »

Roobar wrote: Thu Jan 12, 2023 16:30 So turns out he was missing the config folder. Thanks for the support! 😀
So are you or your friend trying to make anything with the editor, or just looking around and examining existing levels?
I'd like to see some creations or at least some experiments from you!
User avatar
Roobar
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 3202
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 16:12
Contact:

Re: [Update] Hocus Pocus Level editor v1.2

Post by Roobar »

Look, I was just looking. For me, it's a love-hate relationship with this game. I love to play it, but I don't like the limitations. Limitations like you can't place crystals or columns in the sky. There's not much variety in a single tileset to work with either. The editor is full featured, but I'm used to different type of control schemes. My favorite editor is the one in SAHD (and CCHD) which is a joy to use. I like to right click to select and copy a tile/tiles instead of deleting them. I use middle mouse button and wasd to move the camera. I'd like to have some zoom-in/out with mousewheel or some keys. I also like to visually see all the objects as they would appear in the game, not some rectangles. Maybe Apogee will make an HD overhaul of Hocus Pocus as well. I imagine it will be with some new enemies, tilesets, steam workshop and will remove those limitations. It will be interesting. Who knows.
Post Reply