NETKEEN: Multiplayer Keen Game

Here is where to post about the latest Commander Keen fangame or modification you've finished, a new website you've made, or another Keen-related creation.
User avatar
lemm
Blorb
Posts: 694
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 10:18
Location: canada lol

Post by lemm »

You are using the dynamic core? It works better on win98 dosbox if I lowered cycles to around 2000.
User avatar
Commander Spleen
Lord of the Foobs
Posts: 2384
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 22:54
Location: Border Village
Contact:

Post by Commander Spleen »

Snortimer wrote:Anyway, I tried single-player Netkeen on Pandora yesterday.
:envyface How long ago did you get yours?</hijack>
User avatar
Commander Keen
Vortininja
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 8:27
Location: On board the Bean With Bacon Megarocket.

Post by Commander Keen »

I never once expected a multiplayer Keen game. I tried it using a LAN party and thought it was great! I would love to play a few games with everyone someday.
:begging
User avatar
Snortimer
Vortininja
Posts: 237
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 8:04
Location: Toronto, Canada
Contact:

Post by Snortimer »

Commander Spleen wrote:
Snortimer wrote:Anyway, I tried single-player Netkeen on Pandora yesterday.
:envyface How long ago did you get yours?</hijack>
On the 22nd of January. :christmas When did you order yours? Are you active on any of the community forums?

In Minimenu with the background killer, the original games run almost perfectly, but Galaxy mods like Ceilick's stutter a bit. (Is there a technical reason for why DOSBox can't have auto frameskip like so many other emulators do?)
Member since at least 1998 with... ah... some long absences. I was even a moderator at one point. I'll probably keep coming back here and there as long as this place still exists.
User avatar
Commander Spleen
Lord of the Foobs
Posts: 2384
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 22:54
Location: Border Village
Contact:

Post by Commander Spleen »

DOSBox has a frameskip option, but I haven't heard of auto-frameskip.

I ordered as soon as I could, but didn't manage to get there on the first day. My queue place is estimated at around 1,800. Not that that means much given the number of people who are estimated at sub-1,000 and are yet to receive theirs.

I haven't been active on the forums, but probably will be a bit once the machine arrives.
User avatar
Commander Keen
Vortininja
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 8:27
Location: On board the Bean With Bacon Megarocket.

Post by Commander Keen »

I have a few suggestions to improve the game server. One, you should make it so that if a player quits by Esc, the game will either end automatically or the character will disappear from the game. Right now, the character just sits there when you leave. Two, I know you can only have 4 players at most, but cant you make it so you can choose from a huge list of characters to play as for those 4 players other then just Keen, Mort, Lindsey, and Spot? Last, and this I can thank Shadow Master for finding, if you are playing, lets say for example, a Keen 4 map and the second player runs the game, lets just say Keen 5, the game will allow it and cause map confusions. You should add a check to make the game see what maps are being used and if the wrong maps are running on the other players, the game wont continue until its correct.
User avatar
Snortimer
Vortininja
Posts: 237
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 8:04
Location: Toronto, Canada
Contact:

Post by Snortimer »

Thanks to Ceilick's tutorial on page 2, I finally figured out how to connect online through DOSBox on the Pandora. I'd be up for trying a battle one day. (I'm in Canada)
Member since at least 1998 with... ah... some long absences. I was even a moderator at one point. I'll probably keep coming back here and there as long as this place still exists.
User avatar
Commander Keen
Vortininja
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 8:27
Location: On board the Bean With Bacon Megarocket.

Post by Commander Keen »

Snortimer wrote:Thanks to Ceilick's tutorial on page 2, I finally figured out how to connect online through DOSBox on the Pandora. I'd be up for trying a battle one day. (I'm in Canada)
Id be willing to play a friendly game with you sometime. Just for fun, ya know. :D
Shadow Master
Lord of the Shikadi
Posts: 264
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 13:30

Post by Shadow Master »

Adding to Capt- er, Commander Keen's post above, it'd also be nice if the game validated its command line on startup. I accidentally passed "-ck 4" instead of "-ext ck4" and I didn't notice my mistake until Commander Keen mentioned my character's odd behavior on IRC.
User avatar
Commander Keen
Vortininja
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 8:27
Location: On board the Bean With Bacon Megarocket.

Post by Commander Keen »

Shadow Master wrote:Adding to Capt- er, Commander Keen's post above, it'd also be nice if the game validated its command line on startup. I accidentally passed "-ck 4" instead of "-ext ck4" and I didn't notice my mistake until Commander Keen mentioned my character's odd behavior on IRC.
Its Commander Keen, NOT Captain Keen..... *reads post again* Oh. Opps. Sorry.
User avatar
lemm
Blorb
Posts: 694
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 10:18
Location: canada lol

Post by lemm »

Commander Keen wrote:I have a few suggestions to improve the game server. One, you should make it so that if a player quits by Esc, the game will either end automatically or the character will disappear from the game. Right now, the character just sits there when you leave. Two, I know you can only have 4 players at most, but cant you make it so you can choose from a huge list of characters to play as for those 4 players other then just Keen, Mort, Lindsey, and Spot? Last, and this I can thank Shadow Master for finding, if you are playing, lets say for example, a Keen 4 map and the second player runs the game, lets just say Keen 5, the game will allow it and cause map confusions. You should add a check to make the game see what maps are being used and if the wrong maps are running on the other players, the game wont continue until its correct.

Thanks for the suggestions, I'll put them in a future version.
It would be possible to add in a few more player sprites (as long as only four are active at once) so long as someone is willing to draw them...
Ceilick
The Dude
Posts: 1627
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 20:10
Location: Seattle

Post by Ceilick »

It would be possible to add in a few more player sprites (as long as only four are active at once) so long as someone is willing to draw them...
:O I've been decieved! Or misunderstood... Or carefully manipulated into completing four sprites before trying to tackle more. Anyway, this is definitely a kick toward finishing my lt. barker and oracle janitor sprites, probably the council page too.
User avatar
TerminILL
Skypest
Posts: 589
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 8:59
Location: In a box.
Contact:

Post by TerminILL »

fulc yeah, oracle janitor sprites
Last edited by TerminILL on Tue Mar 01, 2011 20:53, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Eros
Cybloog Slayer
Posts: 536
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 20:59

Post by Eros »

i'm on right now, if anyone wants to play

i finally figured out how to toggle controls.

maybe make selected options flashing?
StupidBunny wrote:
kuliwil wrote:I wish that oa;fdjgnae;ogubneaogiearh;igbnerfgoajfsgoefnh
Granted. You have just had a severe stroke.
User avatar
lemm
Blorb
Posts: 694
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 10:18
Location: canada lol

Post by lemm »

Eros wrote:maybe make selected options flashing?
Yeah... I wanted to. And it still doesn't for whatever reason, so i just gave up on it.
Post Reply