Commander Keen positioning bug

All discussion about the Commander Genius project (a Keen interpreter + more).
Post Reply
Oet
Grunt
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2019 22:36

Commander Keen positioning bug

Post by Oet »

Hi Gerstrong,

Something weird is happening on recent GNU/Linux distro's.

After building CG, Keen seems to stick to a corner (or side) of the screen:
Keen 1: https://vimeo.com/355760518
Keen 4: https://vimeo.com/355760603

Both an old 2.2.3 and the newest master show this behaviour.

This occurs on totally different systems/cpu's:
- Arch Linux 64-bit on a desktop with AMD cpu
- Armbian on a Pinebook A64 with ARM cpu

What is going on? :gimp
gerstrong
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1244
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 14:44
Location: Frankfurt - Germany
Contact:

Re: Commander Keen positioning bug

Post by gerstrong »

This is indeed interesting. I cannot reproduce with the information you are giving me, but maybe you can tell me what revision did

Code: Select all

git branch -v # is your friend
you use and please also send me your cgenius.cfg.

I think it is related to some signed to unsigned integer conversion related to the camera settings. But I cannot say for sure.
Having fun developing stuff...
Oet
Grunt
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2019 22:36

Re: Commander Keen positioning bug

Post by Oet »

Now trying with the master, but older CG versions also show this behavior on both my GNU/Linux computers.

Code: Select all

git branch -v
* master 6d6a009e8 Version update
The config on my desktop (laptop has lower with and height, but same issue):

Code: Select all

[Audio]
channels = 2
format = 32784
musicvol = 128
rate = 44100
sndblaster = false
soundvol = 128

[Bound]
down = 0
left = 0
right = 0
speed = 0
up = 0

[FileHandling]
SearchPath1 = ${HOME}/.CommanderGenius
SearchPath2 = .
SearchPath3 = /usr/share/commandergenius

[Video]
OGLfilter = linear
OpenGL = true
ShowCursor = true
TiltedScreen = false
VirtPad = false
VirtPadSize = 100
aspect = 4:3
filter = 0
fps = 60
fullscreen = true
gameHeight = 200
gameWidth = 320
height = 2160
scale = 0
scaletype = scalex
vsync = false
width = 3840
During the cmake, I noticed an empty CG_VERSION and SDL2IMAGE_LIBRARY despite having installed sdl2_image:

Code: Select all

-- Using shared SDL Version 2 for GsKit
-- Using shared SDL Version 2 for GsKit
-- Python3_LIBRARIES = /usr/lib/libpython3.7m.so
-- Python3_INCLUDE_DIRS = /usr/include/python3.7m
-- SDLIMAGE INCLUDE DIR /usr/include/SDL2
-- SDLIMAGE_LIBRARY /usr/lib/libSDL2_image.so
-- Using shared SDL Version 2 for GsKit
-- cotire 1.8.0 loaded.
-- Preparing the Build-System for Commander Genius
-- Setting SYSTEM_DATA_DIR to /usr/local/
-- Python3_LIBRARIES = /usr/lib/libpython3.7m.so
-- Python3_INCLUDE_DIRS = /usr/include/python3.7m
-- SDLIMAGE INCLUDE DIR /usr/include/SDL2
-- SDLIMAGE_LIBRARY /usr/lib/libSDL2_image.so
-- Using shared SDL Version 2 for Commander Genius
-- Found SDL2_mixer: /usr/lib/libSDL2_mixer.so (found version "2.0.4") 
-- Internal Downloader: ON
-- CXX target engine_keen_galaxy cotired.
-- Found PkgConfig: /usr/bin/pkg-config (found version "1.6.3") 
CMake Warning (dev) in src/engine/unzip/CMakeLists.txt:
  A logical block opening on the line

    /home/joeri/Commander-Genius/src/engine/unzip/CMakeLists.txt:3 (if)

  closes on the line

    /home/joeri/Commander-Genius/src/engine/unzip/CMakeLists.txt:7 (endif)

  with mis-matching arguments.
This warning is for project developers.  Use -Wno-dev to suppress it.

-- Checking for module 'minizip'
--   Package 'minizip', required by 'virtual:world', not found
-- Found ZLIB: /usr/lib/libz.so (found version "1.2.11") 
-- Found CURL: /usr/lib/libcurl.so (found version "7.66.0")  
-- SDL2_LIBRARY = /usr/lib/libSDL2main.a;/usr/lib/libSDL2.so;-lpthread
-- SDL2IMAGE_LIBRARY = 
-- CXX target CGeniusExe cotired.
-- CG_VERSION = 
-- CPACK_PACKAGE_VERSION = 0.1.1
-- Build system is prepared. To Build the project just type "make"
-- If you want to create the installation package just type "make package" after you build the project
-- Configuring done
-- Generating done
-- Build files have been written to: /home/oet/cg
iddqDOOD
Meep
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2019 0:04

Re: Commander Keen positioning bug

Post by iddqDOOD »

I got exactly the same problem, Windows 10. CG version 2.3.6 center of the camera is interpreted always at some corner. In my case center of the game camera is centered to the top-left corner of the screen http://imgurl.me/image/PFYKo. strangely, this doesn't happen to me with Keen Dreams. Only with every other keen game
iddqDOOD
Meep
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2019 0:04

Re: Commander Keen positioning bug

Post by iddqDOOD »

Sorry, i found the problem. modify "bound" with

down = 130
left = 140
right = 180
speed = 5
up = 50

for some reason when the config file was set this was set to 0. set that up and it's done

However i have another problem now. I can't save the game. When i try to the game makes a file, but doesn't create a savefile, nor lets me write down a name for the save
Oet
Grunt
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2019 22:36

Re: Commander Keen positioning bug

Post by Oet »

Post superseded...
Last edited by Oet on Sun Nov 17, 2019 23:42, edited 3 times in total.
Oet
Grunt
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2019 22:36

Re: Commander Keen positioning bug

Post by Oet »

Somehow, I didn't see your post before:
iddqDOOD wrote: Sun Oct 27, 2019 1:39 Sorry, i found the problem. modify "bound" with

down = 130
left = 140
right = 180
speed = 5
up = 50
THIS INDEED FIXED IT! Thanks!

Initially, these were also 0 by default, so I had to modify them too:
gameHeight = 200
gameWidth = 320

I believe the latest master fixed the above problems as well.
iddqDOOD wrote: Sun Oct 27, 2019 1:39 When i try to the game makes a file, but doesn't create a savefile, nor lets me write down a name for the save
I have the same problem. I cannot save.

That will be our next challenge I guess...
Hopefully, Gerstrong will have time to fix this.
gerstrong
Vorticon Elite
Posts: 1244
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 14:44
Location: Frankfurt - Germany
Contact:

Re: Commander Keen positioning bug

Post by gerstrong »

Should be better with version 2.4 where you can optionally type savegames.
Having fun developing stuff...
Post Reply