Commander Keen in: Break the Targets!

Here is where to post about the latest Commander Keen fangame or modification you've finished, a new website you've made, or another Keen-related creation.
Trevor_trev
Grunt

Commander Keen in: Break the Targets!

Post by Trevor_trev »

Hello fellow Keeners! I've been lurking on here for a bit now, first of all I want to say this is a mighty fine community you've got here. I'm sad to see it's not as active as it once was but I think that's common for forums these days, especially ones primarily made up of adults with adult lives. I've played a few of the mods and so far my favorite is Atroxian Realm! I'm a big fan of the puzzles that Gridlock was able to incorporate with the limited features of the engine!

I want to finally share a fangame that I've made in Unity. I started learning how to use unity as well as coding in general at the beginning of this year, using Keen galaxy as a template to learn from seeing as it was one my favorite of the games I grew up with in the good 'ol 90's.

So what I've done is strung the first three levels of keen 4 together (including the bean w/bacon megarocket level) without enemies, hazards, or moving platforms. They're not perfect copies, but they're pretty close. This game's main purpose is as a kind of demo for me to add features to until I have the functionality I need to make the fangame that I plan to make, but seeing as it stands on it's own as a simple time attack, super smash bros style "break the targets" game I figured I would put this in the release forum.

To anyone who downloads and plays the game: I would be so so incredibly grateful if you could leave your opinion on how closely I've been able to mimic the feel of the Keen Galaxy games as well as any bugs you run into! Feel free to go into as much detail as your willing to, the more feedback I hear the better I can make this!